Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Dane Returns with G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive Oval Victory

By Ken de la Bastide

(September 24, 2012) –
 It had been several weeks since Jerry Dane has competed in a G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive race on the Anderson Speedway oval.

Dane sold his car earlier in the year to help pay medical bills and returned on Ed Martin Auto Mall Championship Night and returned to his winning ways.

Dane passed Marshall Clark Jr. on the final lap on the front straight to record his sixth feature win of the year.

Clark had taken the lead on the second circuit from Harry Lashure with an inside pass entering turn one and appeared on his way to the feature win.

But Dane was the driver on the move. He was running fifth after the first lap, passed Lashure on lap four to move into the fourth position using the low groove, powered around Paul Phipps on lap six.

The only caution flag waved on lap 11 for debris which had Dane lining up behind Clark with Ron Phipps on the inside of the front row. It took Dane four laps to get around Ron Phipps with an outside pass on the back straight and he started to close on Clark.

Behind Dane and Clark came Paul Phipps, Ron Phipps and David Powell.

Paul Phipps recorded his fourth win of the year in the first heat, leading the entire distance.

Fast qualifier Trevin Henson and Ron Phipps both got around Dylan Hoppes on the second lap.

Behind Paul Phipps, Ron Phipps and Henson rounded out the top three with Clark and Hoppes rounding out the top five.

Harry Lashure got his initial heat win of the year in the second race, passing Mike Harrold on the second lap after early leader Jesse Thomas pulled out of competition.

At the finish it was Lashure, David Powell and Timmy Perkins scoring the podium finishes.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.