Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Dane Gets Seventh Feature Win, Ron Phipps Crown Champion

By Ken de la Bastide

(October 3, 2012) –
For the seventh time this season Jerry Dane ended Herald Bulletin night at the races in the winner’s circle for the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive Oval feature.

Dane made it a clean sweep of the night’s activities setting fast time, capturing his heat race and driving to victory in the feature.

Marshall Clark Jr. took the early lead in the feature chased by Paul Phipps, Dane, Chris Teepe and Derrik Poppe.

But five laps into the race Dane moved inside of Clark in turn two for the lead and drove away to win by 1.9-seconds over Paul Phipps, followed by Ron Phipps, Jared Keller and Clark.

By starting the feature event, Ron Phipps was crowned the division champion for 2012.

In the first heat race, Clark again took the early lead followed by Keller, David Powell, Dane and Paul Phipps.

On the second lap Dane passed Powell in turn three. Keller took the lead from Clark on the fourth lap in turn three and Dane slipped past for the second spot coming off the fourth corner.

Two laps later Dane passed Keller entering turn one to record only his second heat win of the year.

Keller finished second, but was disqualified for failing post-race technical inspection. That gave second to Clark with Powell finishing third.

Dylan Hoppes passed Poppe on the second lap with an inside move on the front straight and went on to record his first ever win at Anderson Speedway.

Poppe finished second followed by Michelle Cutsinger, James Frawley and Timmy Perkins.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.