Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Lundy Repeats as WMDH ThunderCar Champion, Records Her Third Feature Win

By Ken de la Bastide

(October 3, 2012) – 
Entering the final night of point racing for the WMDH ThunderCars, Hannah Lundy had a scant three-point lead on Rob Allman.

When the night was finishing she defended her championship. Lundy became the first female competitor to win a championship at Anderson Speedway and made it two in a row.

As she has done all year Lundy set fast time during qualifications, which assured her of the pole position for the feature. Allman struggled all night with a carburetor problem.

From the inside of the front row Lundy jumped into the lead and was challenged throughout by Phil Jenkins and Earl Adams II.

She survived one restart on the second lap when Jeff Williams spun in turn one. While Lundy was comfortably in the lead during the second half of the race, Allman could run no better than fifth.

Lundy won by 2-second over Jenkins with Adams, Doug Dugger and Allman rounding out the top five.

As has become her trademark, Lundy climbed onto the roof of her car to celebrate the win and the championship. Allman was one of the first to congratulate her.

“Dad (John) built me a heck of a car,” Lundy said. “He has taught me a lot.”

Lundy said it was fun racing against Allman all year for the title in the closest point race at the track.

“I couldn’t pick a better person to run against for the championship,” she said of Allman.

For the second week in a row Jenkins recorded a victory in the first of two heat races.

Chris Synder took the early and was on the point on lap six when Allman spun on the front straight. On the restart Dugger went to the lead with an outside pass on the front straight.

Jenkins and Lundy got inside of Snyder on the front straight a lap later and on lap nine Jenkins was able to get underneath Dugger going down the back straight.

While battling for position, Lundy and Dugger spun in turn four on the final lap.

Following Jenkins to the checkers were Allman, Adams, Snyder and Dugger.

Randy Hoppes recorded his third heat win of the season in the second race taking the lead from Ronald Adams with an inside pass on the back straight. Eddie Richardson and Ryan Buckner rounded out the top three.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.