Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Edwards Inherits MSR Super Modified Win

By Ken de la Bastide

(October 6, 2012) – 
Kyle Edwards inherited the lead in MSR Super Modifieds at Anderson Speedway when leader Charlie Schultz crashed with 22 laps remaining.

Edwards, who set fast time, won the championship for the new Midwestern series just by starting the feature on Saturday. He was able to keep Jimmy McCune, a veteran of Pay Less Little 500 action, at bay to record the win.

Following Edwards and McCune were Brandon Fisher, Sondi Eden and Jon Henes.

Ohio driver Schultz dominated the first 78 laps of the Must See Racing Twin 50s for the Must See Racing Super Modifieds, when he made contact with a slower car on the front straight.

Schultz got airborne after making contact with the car of Don Johnson. That changed the dynamics of the race with Kyle Edwards assuming the lead and Jimmy McCune moving up to second, the only two cars on the lead lap.

For the second 50 laps, Kyle Edwards started from the pole position after finishing third in the first segment with opening race winner Schultz starting second followed by Danny Shirey, the only cars on the lead lap.

It took Schultz just two laps to get inside of Edwards entering turn one for the lead and took off where he finished the first 50 lap segment, pulling away from the field.

Shirey spun on the lap 51 restart and had to start at the back of the pack and then Dave McKnight spun in the same spot on the back straight before the racing action was resumed.

Schultz lapped the third place running Shirey on lap 65. Shirey’s night ended on lap 71 with a flat tire.

Schultz used the outside line to take the lead from Shirey with an outside move on the front straight and went on to win the first 50 laps, almost lapping the rest of the field.

Schultz ran the high line throughout the first 50 laps to move from the third starting position to the front of the pack and to blast past lapped traffic.

The second caution of the first 50 laps waved on lap 20 when Matt Marlowe rolled to a stop. The first caution flag waved on the opening lap when Cord Ehrhardt spun coming off the fourth corner.

On the restart Schultz pulled away and took advantage of the fact that the lapped car of Zack Gibson was holding up the drivers in positions two through six for the next 25 laps.

Dave McKnight suffered a flat tire on lap 37 and was forced to the pits while running fourth.

Before race officials displayed the move over flag to Gibson on lap 45, Schultz had lapped the entire field except for second place running Shirey and Edwards.

It was the first time in 25 years that Super Modifieds competed at Anderson Speedway, but the field of 16 drivers failed to complete a single lap of competition before the caution flag waved.

On the first lap Gibson and Marlowe got together in turn one and Rich Reid spun in turn four.

Daleville driver Aaron Pierce, looking to make his first Super Modifed start, qualified fifth quick, but in the second heat race bounced off the outside wall on turn one in turn two.

Pole sitter Jack Smith couldn’t get any grip at the start and drifted high in turn one, forcing Pierce to the wall, ending Pierce’s night.

Farmland driver Jessica Bean led all 30 laps to capture the Mel Kenyon Midget feature, chased the entire distance by Travis Young and Dameron Taylor.

With his second place finish Young won the championship for the first time, finishing 45 points ahead of Taylor, who captured the rookie of the year honors. Bean finished third in the point standings.

Terry Goff took the lead from fast qualifier Kevin Blue with an inside pass entering turn three on the fourth circuit and drove away adding another victory to his career leading UMRA Midget total.

Blue finished second with rookie driver Tristan Maggart, Lapel, finishing third after passing Carey “Oogie” Goff on lap 18 with an outside pass coming off the fourth corner.

Doug Dugger made it a clean sweep of Thunder Roadster action setting quick time and then recording wins in the heat and feature races.

Dugger passed Nate Shrout with an inside move entering turn three on the second circuit and pulled away to a convincing win, his first at Anderson Speedway in 2012. Shrout finished second followed by David Lobbia.

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, October 13th with the Night of Thrills. The racing program will showcase IOFS Outlaw Figure8’s, Roll Over Contest, Culver’s Trailer Race, IOFS Compact Figure 8’s, IOFS Super Carts and Mini Cups.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.