Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Magee Wins Fifth Budweiser Enduro; Evans Comes Up Short

By Ken de la Bastide

(October 26, 2012) – 
It has been three years since Johnny “Mr. Enduro” Magee won a WMDH Thunder Car 200 lap race, but he returned to victory lane at Anderson Speedway on Budweiser Night at the Races on Saturday.

Magee and Eric Evans staged a spirited battle for the top spot through the first 100 laps of the race, swapping the top spot five times before the midpoint break.

For the first 25 laps Magee and Evans led a five car group batting for the top spot including Tommy Brown Jr., Hannah Lundy and Earl Adams II.

The action was slowed only four times by incidents on the track, all but one being single car incidents. Ronnie Rose was taken out on lap 21 when he spun on the front straight and was collected by another car.

Jeff Marcum, running in the top five lost an engine on lap 11.

But during the final 100 laps Magee was in control leading the final 108 laps for his fifth Enduro win.

Evans hopes for a third win took a hit, literally, on lap 135 when the car of Trent Gossar spun in turn two and the two cars made contact. Evans was able to remain on the lead lap to finish second, but was more than 5-seconds behind Magee.

The late stages of the race saw several of the front running drivers befallen by problems. Phil Jenkins slid on lap 162 after contact with Earl Adams II and broke a suspension mount. Adams was sidelined on lap 172 with a mechanical problem.

Following Magee and Evans to the checkers were Doug Dugger, Hannah Lundy and Randy Hoppes.

Magee previously won the Enduro three times in 2008 and the last time on Oct. 17, 2009. Evans entered the night with three wins, one in 2005 and two in 2007.

“The car was really good tonight,” Magee said. “The track was getting bad (slick) at the end. I had fun racing everyone. It was a good, clean race.”

The race was slowed only eight times for mostly single car incidents. Thirty-five cars started the final event of the season.

Brown was the fastest of the 35 cars that entered the Enduro followed by two-time WMDH Thunder Car champion Lundy.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.