Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Speedway Honors Champions

By Ken de la Bastide

(November 13, 2012) – 
More than 100 people attended the 2012 Anderson Speedway awards banquet honoring the five division champions last Saturday.

All of the division champions received a specially designed watch from McIntyre Jewelers and a framed photograph from Dave Sink.

Josh Poore, the 2011 EDCO Welding Street Stock champion, captured the title this year in the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model division by scoring seven top five and two ten finishes during the year.

“It was a long season,” Poore said. “We didn’t tear up the equipment during the year.”

Poore said making the switch from a Street Stock to a Late Model was very difficult.

“It was a whole new world,” he said.

For winning the championship Poore won a late model body from Five Star Racing.

Entering the 2012 season Indianapolis driver Jimmy Kirby set a goal of winning the EDCO Welding Street Stock championship at Anderson Speedway after capturing several titles at the Indianapolis Speedrome.

Kirby also captured the Champion Racing Association’s Street Stock title during the year.

During the year Kirby recorded six heat wins, four feature wins and finished in the top five nine times to go along with setting fast time three nights.

“It was a challenge to come and race against these guys,” Kirby said. “I came here to win the championship. It was awesome to win both the Anderson and CRA titles.”

Kirby said his win in a CRA Street Stock race at Anderson Speedway broke the ice.

He is returning in 2013 to defend his championship.

In the tightest point battle of the year, Alexandria driver Hannah Lundy edged Rob Allman to make it back-to-back WMDH Thunder Car championships.

Lundy set fast time 12 times during the year, set a new track record on Sept. 15 and recorded 12 top five finishes to go along with three feature wins.

“Rob (Allman) was there all year,” Lundy said of the close competition between the two drivers. “I was nervous up to the last point’s race. I was shocked that we were able to hold him off.”

Ron Phipps captured the G.W. Pierce Auto Parts Front Wheel Drive Oval championship by recording three feature wins, four heat wins and 13 top five finishes during the season.

“The last couple of years I was following the leaders every week,” he said. “I was consistent all year and it worked out for me.”

The G.W. Pierce Auto Parts Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 title went to Mike Alley on the strength of nine top five finishes to go along with three heat and a feature win in 2012.

Alley also captured the International Outlaw Figure-8 championship for the Front Wheel Drive cars.

When asked about getting into Figure-8 competition, Alley described himself as a “thrill seeker”.

“When I first started, I was scared to death,” he laughed. “I guess I made it,” holding up the champion’s trophy.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.