Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Dedication, Sportsman Awards Presented

By Ken de la Bastide

(November 13, 2012) – 
Every year the Anderson Speedway community remembers one of the track’s favorite competitors who died in a car accident on the way to a fire as a volunteer firefighter.

Ever since Rocky Tharp passed away, the speedway as awarded the annual Sportsmanship award in his honor.

The winners this year included veteran drivers who always seemed to be willing to help a fellow competitor.

In the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model the winner was Joe Woodring. Frankie Oakes captured the honor in the EDCO Welding Street Stock Division, with Rob Allman earning the honors in the WMDH Thunder Car division.

The award winners in the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive divisions were James Frawley in Oval competition and Harry Lashure in the Figure-8 Division.

The dedication award is given every year by Mary Ann Remington in honor of her late husband, Bob, who gave his times and talents to the track.

Car owner Ronnie Hall was given the honor in the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model Division with owner and driver Jimmy Kirby earning the award in the EDCO Welding Street Stocks.

Rookie driver Chris Snyder, who made the trek from Ohio to compete with the WMDH Thunder Cars, was named the Dedication Award winner. Kevin W. Henson and Mike Harrold were honored in the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive oval and figure-8 divisions.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.