Four-Time USAC Champion Dave Darland and 2012 Pay Less Little 500 Pole Winner Tony Hunt Among Most Recent Entries


Story Courtesy of

ANDERSON, Ind. (March 14, 2013) -  Early Entries are continuing to arrive at Anderson Speedway for the 65th Pay Less Little 500 set for Saturday, May 25. Among the latest entrants include four-time USAC Champion Dave Darland, 2012 Pay Less Little 500 Pole Winner Tony Hunt and Michigan youngster Kyle Feeney.

Dave Darland is a four-time USAC Champion after earning crowns in the 1997 USAC Silver Crown Series, 1999 USAC National Sprint Car Series and back-to-back USAC National Midget Series titles in 2001-2002. He is a three-time champion of USAC's Indiana Sprint Week, has scored two Belleville Nationals titles and won the King of Indiana Sprint Series championship in 2001. This will mark Darland's second appearance at the Pay Less Little 500. He debuted in 1998 finishing 26th after engine problems knocked his No. 5 Gene Nolen entry out of competition.

10-time USAC Champion Tony Hunt returns this year in the Michael Phulps machine. Hunt has competed in 10 Pay Less Little 500's with a best showing of second in 2003 to winner Eric Gordon. Hunt has finished in the top five on four occasions. Other strong performances include fourth in 2002, third in 2004 and 2010. The California driver has six top 10's and paced the field for 45 laps.

Michigan younger Kyle Feeney made an impressive debut last year, crossing the finish line in ninth position. He placed fourth in the 2012 Auto Value Super Sprints final standings and in 2013 plans include another full season with AVSS along with several appearances with the TRUFUEL Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series.