Phipps Edges Warner in FWD Action; Veterans Put on a Classic Show

By Ken de la Bastide

(March 31, 2013) -
It might have been opening night at Anderson Speedway but two veteran competitors turning in a classic battle with Paul Phipps emerging the victor.

Phipps and Nick Warner took turns leading all 20 laps with plenty of side by side racing action.

Phipps took the initial lead over Warner, who set fast time during qualifying. That lead only lasted one lap when Trevin Henson lost a right front tire coming off the fourth corner.

On the Aerco Heating & Cooling restart Warner took advantage of the high groove to take the lead from Phipps with Marshal Clark Jr. running third with Elliott McKinney and Ron Phipps rounding out the top five.

The running order remained unchanged when the second and last caution flag waved on lap seven when Dylan Hoppes spun in turn two and collected Jesse Thomas and Austin McKinney.

Following the restart Warner ran the high line using a slight advantage in momentum to Paul Phipps running on the low side. For most of the next ten laps Phipps would gain a slight lead in the corner, only to have Warner retake the point on the straightaways.

Finally on lap 17 Phipps was able to get far enough alongside Warner entering turn one and used a lapped car to grab the lead.

Warner has one more chance the for win with Phipps used a slower car as the perfect pick to keep Warner at bay on the penultimate lap to go on to win the Front Wheel Driver feature.

Warner finished second followed by Marshall Clark Jr., McKinney and Mike Alley.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.