MEP Late Models, Street Stocks and Front Wheel Drive Figure 8's Debut on Saturday

Photo by David Sink

(April 3, 2013) - Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, April 6th with the season debut of the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models, Street Stocks and Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 divisions. The Front Wheel Drive Oval division will also be in action on the high-banked quarter-mile oval.

The MEP Late Models were one of the most competitive divisions last year producing nine winners in 13 events. The opening six races of the season were won by six competitors. Only three drivers, Jason Atkinson, Ryan Amonett and Ronnie Rose visited the winner’s circle on multiple occasions. In the final standings, Josh Poore earned the championship over Rose with Brandon Phillips ranked in third position.

Street Stocks will compete in their first of 13 races on Saturday Night. Last year, Indianapolis’ racer Jimmy Kirby visited the winner’s circle on five times en route to his division title. Tyler Marsh and Josh Meyers were his closest challengers in the points rundown.

The Front Wheel Drive Oval division held its first race last weekend with Paul Phipps earning the victory after a classic battle with Nick Warner. The remainder of the top five included Marshall Clark Jr., Elliott McKinney and Mike Alley.

Alley earned his first division crown last year with capturing the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 hardware. He earned a single victory, but consistent finishes propelled him to the title. Behind Alley were Donnie Ellis Jr. and Kevin Henson.

On Saturday, April 6, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 7. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.