Top Speed Modifieds, MEP Late Models and Front Wheel Drives Oval Featured Saturday

Photo by Dave Sink

(April 17, 2013) - Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, April 20 during Madison County Storm Water Quality Partnership Night that features Top Speed Fabrication Modified Tour, McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models and Front Wheel Drives on the Oval.

Making their first appearance in several years, the Modifieds will return to Anderson Speedway with the Top Speed Fabrication Modified Tour showcased in a 50-lap feature event. The series opened the season last weekend at Lucas Oil Raceway Park with Scott Coe earning the victory over Jeff Lane and Jonathon Martin.

Drivers that are expected to compete in the Anderson return include Coe, Lane, Brian Nester, Tim Burkett, Damon Breedlove, Melvin Kliein, Mark Bott, Scotty Tomasik Jerry Hammond, Herb Johnson Jr., Herb Johnson, Ralph Baxter, Terri Popielarz, Ryan Ammonette and other top competitors.

The MEP Late Models return for the second occasion this season. The opener on April 6 included a bump and run that propelled Keith Sterkowitz to victory over Ronnie Rose and Rob Allman. The remainder of the top five included Jeff Marcum and Ronnie Phipps.

Intense action has been the theme of the opening events in the Front Wheel Drives Oval division. Paul Phipps and Nick Warner have scored hard fought feature victories. In the point standings, Elliott McKinney holds a slim four point margin over Paul Phipps with Mike Alley ranked in third position.

On Saturday, April 20, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 7. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.