Dane Dominates Front Wheel Drive Action

Story by Ken de la Bastide
Photo by Dave Sink

(April 21, 2013) -  In his first appearance in Front Wheel Drive Oval Division action in 2013, Jerry Dane turned in an impressive performance.

Dane was driving the car that Nick Warner steered to a win and a second place finish previously this season.

Trevin Henson grabbed the early lead chased by Dane and Mike Alley. Alley faded on the third laps losing positions to Marshal Clark Jr. and Elliott McKinney.

Dane went to the lead on lap six with an inside move on Henson entering turn three. From three Dane started to stretch his lead.

Chris Jennings was the driver on the move passing McKinney and Henson over a five lap period and moved into the second spot with five laps remaining.

Dane went on to win by 2.6-seconds over Jennings followed by McKinney, Henson and Clark.

In the first heat race, Henson led the entire distance to record his initial victory of 2013. Henson has lost the right front wheel during both previous nights of racing.

He was followed to the checkers by McKinney, Jennings, Dane and Clark.

Paul Phipps won the second heat race after Austin McKinney and Brian McKinney spun on the second lap in turn two while battling for the lead.

Phipps went on to lead the rest of the race followed by Adam Lee, in his first action of 2013, and Austin McKinney.