Rain Impact Racing Program; Features to be Rescheduled

Story by Ken de la Bastide

(April 28, 2013) - For the first time in 2013 Mother Nature had an impact on the Saturday night racing program at Anderson Speedway.

The rain that was forecast for most of the day arrived with 12 laps remaining the MAX Classic Rock CRA Street Stock 75.

Features for the WMDH Thunder Cars, Front Wheel Drive Oval and Legends will be rescheduled on a date to be announced.

Fans can bring their rain checks to either next Friday or Saturday racing program and receive 50 percent off an adult ticket.

In heat racing action, Tom Gossar got his first win of the season in the Thunder Car division.

Gossar led the entire distance, but behind him there was spirited action for the second through fifth positions.

Rob Allman passed Trent Gossar for second on lap five with an inside move coming off the second corner.

Gossar battled with Curtis Chapman, Nick Warner and Robbie Wyman the rest of the distance. On lap nine Warner got loose coming off the fourth corner, making a nice save to keep the car off the outside retaining wall.

Behind Tom Gossar and Allman were Trent Gossar, Chapman and Wyman.

In the second heat race Mark Allman led the first eight laps but with two laps remaining Eddie Richardson and Ryan Buckner on the outside going down the back straight.

Richardson recorded the win over Buckner by less than three-tenths of a second with Allman, Austin Russell and Larry Sargent rounding out the top five.

In Front Wheel Drive Oval Division action it appeared that Chris Jennings made track history by becoming the first FWD driver to break into the 14-second mark during qualifications.

Jennings turned a lap at 14.987-seconds, but it was disallowed when the car failed post qualifying technical inspection. Elliott McKinney and Marshal Clark Jr. also had their time disallowed.

In the first of two heat races Paul Phipps passed Mike Alley entering turn three on the second circuit and went on to record his second heat win of the year.

Clark passed Alley a lap later to claim the second position. Alley faded and was passed by Trevin Henson, Elliott McKinney and Jennings.

With two laps remaining Jennings slipped around McKinney on the front straight to claim the third spot. McKinney and Henson rounded out the top five.

Mark Jennings took the lead on the second lap with a pass of Dylan Hoppes and went on to record the victory in his first appearance of the season at Anderson Speedway.

Jennings was followed to the checkered flag by Brian McKinney, Austin McKinney, Jesse Thomas and Hoppes.

Alexandria driver John Robbins passed Aaron Holden with four laps remaining to win the Legends Division heat race. Eric Black passed Holden on lap eight coming off the fourth corner to finish second followed by Holden, Mark Dietzen and Marty Griffin.