2013 Little 500 Hall of Fame Induction Class Announced

Story by Dave Sink

(April 29, 2013) - Three well-known Little 500 competitors and race official are slated for induction into the Little 500 Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 25, part of Pay Less Little 500 Week. The Class of 2013 will be formally inducted at a luncheon at Anderson Speedway the afternoon of the Little 500.

From the Historic Era (1949-1975) are Tom Schemmer and the late Al Sweeney. From the Modern Era comes Mac Steele and the late Lloyd Shores.

Schemmer, of Toledo, Ohio, was a chief mechanic who wrenched on several Little 500 entries with Darl Harrison as driver from 1964 to 1975. Was part of three Darl Harrison wins in '67,'70, and '75. Schemmer was also instrumental in four top five finishes and one pole ('67) while overseeing Harrison's Little 500 efforts.

Sweeney, of Chicago, Illinois, was an IMCA official at the Little 500 from 1962 to 1971. Sweeney was key in drawing several prominent racers to the event during the IMCA era. Sweeney was inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in 1991.

Steele, of Tampa, Florida, is a car owner with thirteen entries from 1985 to 2006. His cars were a part of three top five finishes in the race. He fielded entries for drivers Paul Southwick, John Klausing, Tom Seckman, Stan Butler, Dave Steele, Dude Teate, and Troy DeCaire among others.

Shores, of Indianapolis, Indiana, was a prolific chassis builder and designer who built numerous Little 500 entries from 1970's until his death in 2002. Shores had a significant presence at the Little 500.

The 24th annual Little 500 Hall of Fame induction ceremony honoring the "Class of 2013" is open to all race fans as well as competitors. Seating is limited at this year's luncheon so advance tickets will be the only way to guarantee a seat. Please order your tickets as soon as possible by calling (765) 288-4587.