Reaid Captures ARCA/CRA Late Model Victory

(May 4, 2013) -
 T.J. Reaid worked his way up from the eighth starting spot to lead the final 56 laps to win the “Sell it Again, Sam!” 125 event Saturday at Anderson Speedway for the ARCA/CRA Super Series.

Reaid set fast time during qualifying and utilized the high groove early in the race to move up to the third spot behind early leader Bret Jack and Kyle Benjamin.

Benjamin took the lead from Jack on lap 43 and stayed out front until he was passed by Reaid with an inside move entering turn one.

Following a string of caution flags between lap 99 and 105, Reaid was leading local favorite Joe Beaver, Benjamin, Kenny Tweedy and Jack.

The ninth caution flag waved on lap 122 when Jay Niewiek spun in turn four which set up a three lap shoot-out to the finish.

Benjamin made a final charge for the win, but slipped entering turn one on lap 123 which allowed Reaid to cement the win.

Benjamin finished second followed by Beaver, Tweedy and Jack.

With the victory Reaid picked up a $500 bonus for winning after setting the fast time during qualifications.

Curtis Chapman came back through the pack after a lap seven incident while battling with Tom Gossar to win the delayed WMDH ThunderCar feature.

Gossar took the lead with Chapman moving up from the fourth spot to run second after five laps. While the two drivers were attempting to pass a slower car entering turn three, there was contact which sent Gossar into outside retaining wall. Chapman was sent to the tail of the field.

Chapman took the lead from Eddie Richardson on lap 11 with an inside pass going down the back straight and then held off Trent Gossar for the win.

“I want to apologize to Tom (Gossar),” Chapman said. “It wasn’t entirely my fault. It was two guys going for the same spot.”

The scheduled feature was halted by rain after seven laps and will be rescheduled at a later date. When the rains came Jeff Hopkins was leading chased by Rob Allman and Chapman.

Elliott McKinney passed Trevin Henson with an outside move on the back straight and went on to record the victory in Front Wheel Drive Oval Division action.

Paul Phipps passed Henson with a power move on the outside in turn three and Chris Jennings passed Henson on the final lap to claim third.

In the second feature, fast qualifier Jennings started on the tail, but worked his way into the top five after only four laps.

On the tenth circuit, Jennings got inside of Ron Phipps entering turn three to record the victory. Phipps finished second followed by McKinney, Paul Phipps and Jerry Dane.

The Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature was also impacted by rain.

On Saturday, May 11, racing action return to Anderson Speedway with the CRA Late Model Sportsman Series, Front Wheel Drives Oval, Legends and Thunder Roadsters.