Griffin Claims Roadsters Win; Dugger, Shrout Get Heat Victoreis

By Ken de la Bastide

(May 12, 2013) - After setting fast time during qualifications for the Thunder Roadsters, Marty Griffin took advantage of the pole position to lead green to checkers in the feature.

Griffin was chased for the first 14 of the 30 laps by Doug Dugger, who was passed by Chris Weddel with an inside move down the back straight.

When Eddie Richardson spun coming off of turn two with seven laps remaining, that allowed Dugger to reclaim the second position on the restart.

Although Dugger was able to close somewhat on Griffin over the final laps, he came up less than a half-second short.

Following Griffin and Dugger to the finish line were Weddel, John Robbins and Nate Shrout.

Dugger led the entire distance to claim the win in the first of the two heat with Griffin the driver on the move.

After the opening lap Griffin was running fourth and passed Phil Jenkins with an inside move entering turn three, Jenkins lost another spot to Weddel on the back straight on the next circuit.

On the sixth lap Griffin used the low groove through turns three and four to get inside of Robbins on the front straight. Weddel passed Robbins a lap later entering turn three.

At the finish Dugger won by 2.4 seconds over Griffin with Weddel coming home in third.

Before a lap was completed in the second heat race the night ended for Darrell Brown, who make heavy contact with the outside retaining wall in turn two.

Richardson took the early lead chased by Shrout and David Lobbia.

On the second lap Shrout used the high line to go to the point on the back straight with Lobbia using an identical move around Richardson a lap later.

The only caution flag waved on the ninth circuit when Richardson spun in turn three while running third.

The spin didn’t cost Richardson any positions as he finished third behind Shrout and Lobbia.