Five Former Champions and Talented Group of Challengers Set for 65th Annual Pay Less Little 500

(May 22, 2013) -
 Five former champions and one of the deepest fields will compete in the 65th Pay Less Little 500 at Anderson Speedway on Saturday Night, May 25. Over $123,000 will be up for grabs in the richest asphalt Sprint Car race in the country with the winning team earning a minimum of $25,000.

The former winners of the Pay Less Little 500 that are returning this year are led by nine-time winner Eric Gordon, who most recently earned the prestigious victory in 2010. Other previous champions that have filed entries include Shane Cottle (2008) Brian Tyler (2007, 2012), 1999 winner Chet Fillip and three-time Pay Less Little 500 champion Jeff Bloom (1972, 77, 91).

The talented list of returning drivers includes Tony Hunt, of Lincoln, Calif., a multi-time USAC champion who will make his 11th Little 500 appearance. He has produced four top-five performances with a best showing of second in 2004. Tony Elliott will compete in his 20th Little 500. Elliott has notched six top-five finishes with a best finish of second. Florida’s Troy DeCaire has made seven consecutive appearances with his best finish of sixth in 2007 and this year will compete for Davey Hamilton Racing.

Jacob Wilson has notched multiple top-five finishes with a best showing of fourth in 2009. California native Jo Jo Helberg finished sixth in his debut in 2009 and last year paced the opening 121 circuits before exiting the event after a crash on the backstretch. Drivers that have earned third-place finishes returning include Shane Hollingsworth, Brian Gerster and Donnie Adams Jr. 2012 race runner-up and rookie of the year Billy Wease will also return along with Ohio’s Jimmy McCune, who has collected two top-10 Little 500 finishes. Dave Darland returns for his second appearance in the Pay Less Little 500.

This year’s rookie class is one of the strongest in the 65-year history of the event. It is highlighted by non-wing dirt sprint car standouts Bryan Clauson, Bobby East and Jerry Coons Jr. along with former H.O.S.S. Champions Joe Swanson and Geoff Kaiser.

First round qualifications for the 65th Pay Less Little 500 will take place on Thursday, May 23, beginning at 1:30 p.m. with the 33-car field set during second round of qualifications on Friday afternoon. The 65th Pay Less Little 500 goes green approximately at 8 p.m. on Saturday night.

Tickets are available for the historic 65th Pay Less Little 500 at $29 for reserved seating. For more information, contact the Anderson Speedway Ticket Office at (765) 642-0206.