IOFS Outlaw Figure 8's Headline Friday's Program; Winged Sprint Cars Return Saturday Night

(June 11, 2013) -
Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Friday, June 14 with IOFS Outlaw Figure 8’s, IOFS Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s and Front Wheel Drives Oval. The AERCO Heating & Cooling Night of the Races is set for Saturday, June 15 featuring the Hoosier Outlaw Sprint Series. The WMDH ThunderCars, Front Wheel Drives Oval and Mini Cups are also part of the racing lineup.

The IOFS Outlaw Figure 8’s make their second appearance at Anderson Speedway on Friday evening. In the season debut on Monday, May 20, Charlie Hargraves made a nifty move on the second lap climbing from third place to the lead with an inside move on both Ben Tunney and early leader Curtis Chapman.

Hargraves paced the remainder of the event en route to victory followed by Jesse and Ben Tunney with Chapman and Chuckie Hargraves rounding out the top five.

The IOFS Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s will compete at the quarter-mile oval for the first occasion this season. This season Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 victories have been claimed by Kevin Henson, Donnie Ellis Jr. and most recently Nick Warner.

In the Front Wheel Drives Oval division, Elliott McKinney holds a 32 point advantage over Paul Phipps. The remainder of the top five includes Chris Jennings, Trevin Henson and Jesse Thomas.

On Friday, June 14, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

The Hoosier Outlaw Sprint Series (HOSS) will make their only appearance during the 2013 season at Anderson Speedway on Saturday night. The Winged Sprint Car competitors of the HOSS will be showcased in the 40-lap feature.

Last year, HOSS competed at Anderson twice. In the July appearance, Chris Neuenschwander took advantage of inheriting the top spot after leader Tanner Swanson and second running Jimmy McCune tangled on the 21st circuit. Neuenschwander then finished of Aaron Pierce with Geoff Kaiser, Jeff Fuller and McCune rallied to round out the top five.

In the season finale for HOSS at Anderson in late September, Kaiser benefited after race leader Pierce was involved in an accident while trying to put Don Stepke a lap down. That accident advanced Kaiser to first position with just two laps remaining in the 40-lap event. On the restart Kaiser pulled away for the victory with Swanson, Gallogly, Pierce and Ryan Gillenwater rounding out the top five.

Curtis Chapman continues to be perfect in WMDH ThunderCar action, earning the victory in June 8 in exciting fashion with a pass on Tom Gossar coming to the checkered flag. Other early season challengers include Trent Gossar, Rob Allman and Austin Russell.

The Front Wheel Drive Oval division and Mini Cups will also be part of the action on Saturday night.

On Saturday, June 15, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.