Dane Wins Wild FWD Feature; Two drivers DQ’d

By Ken de la Bastide

(June 17, 2013) -  It only took three laps for the fireworks to erupt during the Front Wheel Drive Oval Division feature on AERCO Heating & Cooling Night at Anderson Speedway.

With Justin Clark in the early lead things got interesting on the third lap when Trevin Henson attempted to make it three wide for the second spot while batting with the cars of Jesse Thomas and Austin McKinney.

The move didn’t work on the back straight as Henson made contact with McKinney’s car and were joined by the car of Elliott McKinney, Marshall Clark Jr. and Peter Corsaro.

After a quick trip to the pits to change tires Henson and Clark were both about to be warned not to make contact with another car. Track officials never got the chance as Clark bumped Henson approaching turn one.

The two drivers exchanged pleasantries in the infield before being separated by track officials. Both were disqualified for the evening for rough driving.

When racing action resumed Paul Phipps took the lead from Justin Clark on lap four with an inside pass entering turn three. Phipps remained in front until lap eight when Dane, who was running the outside line slipped past on the front straight.

The two drivers swapped the point twice more before Dane grabbed the point for good on lap 13 and went on to win by three-seconds over Phipps. Elliott McKinney came home in third followed by Kamden Creek and Justin Clark.

There was plenty of tight racing in the first of the two heat races with Dane recording his second win of the year, working his way to the front of the field.

Creek took the early lead chased by Henson, E. McKinney, Phipps and Dane. Phipps passed McKinney on the second lap and then made a nifty move to get inside of move Henson and Creek to take the lead a lap later.

The only caution flag waved on the fourth lap when E. McKinney lost the right front tire on the front straight in a pack of cars. The tire bounced around and came to rest on Creek’s car.

On the restart, Dane powered around Phipps to take the lead entering the first corner and recorded the win. Henson finished third with Marshall Clark and Creek rounding out the top five.

In the second heat race, Thomas led the entire distance for the victory. Teammates Austin McKinney, Brian McKinney made it a podium finish sweep for Clark Motorsports. Dylan Hoppes and Corsaro rounded out the top five.