Kaiser Scores HOSS Victory

By Ken de la Bastide

(June 17, 2013) - Geoff Kaiser took advantage of the inverted start to lead all 30 laps of the Hoosier Outlaw Sprint Series (HOSS0t feature at Anderson Speedway on AERCO Heating and Cooling Night.

For Kaiser it was his third career win at Anderson Speedway, having won HOSS features in 2012 and 2008.

Kaiser was first chased by Kyle Feeney, who was passed by Joe Swanson on the eighth circuit with an inside move entering turn three.

Swanson cut into Kaiser’s lead when the race’s only caution flag waved on lap 20 when Ryan Myers spun in turn two.

On the restart Kaiser pulled away to win by four-tenths of a second over Swanson with Troy DeCaire finishing third.

“The car was put together last night,” Kaiser said of the winning car provided by the Swanson team. “We were still working on the car when we got to the track.”

DeCaire was fifth after the first lap and moved into the top three after 20 laps.

Fast qualifier Aaron Pierce started seventh in the feature, but missed on the set-up and finished eighth.

In the first of two heat races, Tim Cox jumped into the lead from the start but fans were watching the exploits of fast qualifier Aaron Pierce.

Pierce was running fifth after the first circuit but immediately started working his way to the front.

First he passed Jason Fuller on the second lap, three circuits later he slipped inside of Kyle Feeney for third entering turn three and a lap later was in the runner-up position with a pass of Myers in turn one.

DeCaire passed Myers on lap seven to move into the third position.

At the checkers it was Cox winning by 1.9-seconds over Pierce with DeCaire, Myers and Kyle Feeney rounding out the top five.

In the second race Kevin Feeney led from start to finish winning by a comfortable margin over Jim Payne.

Kaiser came home third followed by Kody Swanson and Kody Gallogly.

There was a good battle for the third position among Kaiser, Swanson and Gallogly with Joe Swanson right on their rear nerf bars.