Josh Poore Repeats in CRA Street Stock 200

By Ken de la Bastide

(June 22, 2013) - In his first start of the 2013 Anderson’s Josh Poore dominated the biggest race of the year for the CRA Street Stock Division at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Poore started on the outside of the front row alongside quick qualifier Jeff Lane. He chased Lane for the first 22 laps and then grabbed the lead with an outside pass on the front straight.

He held off Lane during the course of nine restarts to take home the $3,000 first place money. Poore led 173 of the 200 laps. A year ago Poore led all 200 laps to win event.

With Poore in control of the point there was tight racing behind him for second place between Lane, Josh Myers, Bret Miles Jr. and Dustin Burge.

Lane pressed Poore on the final restart with 11 laps remaining, but was never able to get alongside on the outside. Poore won by .574-seconds.

Myers finished third with Miles and Burge, who started 15th in the field, rounding out the top five.

Poore has not been competing in 2013 following the birth of his son.

There were 21 of the 32 starters still running at the finish with 14 cars running on the lead lap.

The race was slowed only eight times for a total of 46 laps.

David Reynolds used the outside line to climb through the field in the IOFS SuperKart feature, but then moved to the inside to pass Dustin Kares with six laps remaining to record the victory.

Kares took the lead from Kenny Smith on lap six with an outside move on the front straight. By the tenth lap Reynolds was running third, after starting tenth, and moved into the second position with a power move on the outside in turn three.

The second caution flag waved on lap 17 for a three kart tangle in turn four, on the restart Reynolds fell right behind Kares and used the draft to slingshot into the lead.

“I tried four times last year to win at Anderson,” Reynolds said, “so this is my win for the year. I used a lot of patience early in the race and knew I had a good set-up on the kart.”

Nick Warner led from start to finish recording his second Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature victory.

Warner was challenged for the first few circuits by four-time 2013 feature winner Kevin Henson, but Henson’s night ended on lap three when the hood of his race car became loose and obscured his vision.

Following Warner to the checkered flag were Elliott McKinney and Mark Allman.

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, June 29 with Top Speed Fabrication CRA Late Model Sportsman Series, WMDH ThunderCars, Thunder Roadsters and Front Wheel Drives Oval.