In IOFS SuperKart Action Reynolds Makes It A Double

By Ken de la Bastide

(July 5, 2013) - Fans are familiar with drafting at the Daytona and Talladega superspeedways, but the IOFS SuperKarts brought their own brand to Anderson Speedway and it propelled David Reynolds to the win.

Fast qualifier Dustin Kares jumped into the lead at the start chased by
Brad Kares and Reynolds.

At the end of the first lap, Matt Smith flipped his SuperKart end over end on the front straight after brushing the front straight wall. Smith was treated and released at St. John’s Hospital.

On the restart Devin Lane used the high line to start moving toward the front of the field, but drifted high in turn three and lost all his
momentum and dropped to the tail.

With Dustin Kares maintaining the lead the tandem of Ben Tunney and Jason Reynolds hooked up in a draft to pass Reynolds. But that allowed Reynolds to team up with the Kart of Rodney Caldwell.

Caldwell pushed Reynolds to the lead on lap 10 with an inside pass of
Kares entering turn three. The two drafting partners pulled away from
Kares and the unknown question was when Caldwell would attempt to make the pass for the lead.

That opportunity never materialized as Caldwell slowed to a stop on lap 17 and had to settle for a ninth place finish.

Reynolds went on to win for the second time at Anderson, followed by
Dustin Kares, Ryan Cherry, Ben Tunney and Jason Reynolds.

The first heat was a preview for what was to come as Dustin Kares and Caldwell swapped the lead several times before Kares took control to win by a whisker at .009-seconds.

Devin Lane finished third with Brad Kares and Ben Tunney rounding out the top five.

There was plenty of passing for the point in the second heat race between David Reynolds and Jason Reynolds.

Jason led the opening lap, but David took the lead on the second circuit with an inside pass going down the back straight.

Not to be outdone, Jason retook the lead on lap seven with an inside move entering turn three.

But the final pass was made by David on lap eight, again using the outside line on the back straight to record the victory by .136-seconds.

Kenny Smith and Ryan Cherry rounded out the top four spots.