Poet Biorefining Cow Appreciate Day Includes Over 150 Laps of Feature Racing

(July 9, 2013) -
Anderson Speedway returns to action on Saturday, July 13 with Poet Biorefining Cow Appreciation Day. Divisions in action include Top Speed Fabrication CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS, Street Stocks, WMDH ThunderCars along with Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8’s.

In the most recent CRA Late Model Sportsman event at Anderson, Trey Craig passed Josh Cave with 12 laps remaining to win the 75-lap event on May 11. K.C. Spillers finished in second position followed by Mark Lambert with Rob Allman and Jeff Williams completing the top five.

The regulars of the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models will also be part of Saturday’s 75-lap event which serves as a final tune-up for the PGG 75 presented by Motion Motors and Norick Petroleum that is part of Late Model Weekend on July 19.

Drivers that have earned MEP Late Model feature victories this season include Keith Sterkowitz, Danny Trent, Trey Craig, Rob Allman and most recently Ronnie Rose in the Thompson Builders 75 presented by Motion Motors on July 6.

Calvin Parham sits atop the Street Stock standings with a 50-point advantage over the Todd Marsh owned car driven this year by Todd Marsh and Wes Rusell. The remainder of the top five includes Danny Adams, Jake McElfresh and Jimmy Kirby.

Josh Poore has won the previous two Street Stocks events including the 200-lap event with CRA on Saturday, June 22. Other season winners this year include Jake McEflresh, Dustin Burge, Parham and Jason Atkinson.

Curtis Chapman looks to extend his perfect record in the WMDH ThunderCars. The former Figure 8 champion has earned the opening five feature victories and additionally won the special non-points event in March. In the season point standings, Chapman leads Trent Gossar by 88 points with Tom Gossar rounding out the top-three performers.

The Front Wheel Drives Oval division will compete in a 20-lap feature on Saturday. Jerry Dane leads the division with three feature victories. Elliott McKinney and Chris Jennings have both claimed two checkered flags with single-event victories for Paul Phipps and Nick Warner.

In the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8s, Kevin Henson has won three main events during the 2013 season. New track record holder Nick Warner has won two features including the most recent race on July 4 with Donnie Ellis Jr. capturing a single checkered flag.

On Saturday, July 13, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.