Atkinson Earns CRA Late Model Sportsman Victory; Ridner Wins Street Stock Feature

By Ken de la Bastide

(July 13, 2013) - New Castle’s Jason Atkinson led the final 56 laps to capture the CRA Late Model Sportsman 75 lap feature at Anderson Speedway on Poet Biorefining night.

Atkinson started ninth in the 23-car field working his way into the top five after just 11 laps of racing. He moved into the second spot on lap 19 when J.J. Haley spun in turn two.

On the restart Atkinson used the outside line to get around Fort Wayne driver KC Spillers and pulled away to a comfortable margin.

The battle over the final 20 circuits was for the second position between Spillers, Danny Trent and Mark Lambert.

Spillers held on for second with Lambert grabbing the third spot at the checkered flag with Trent and Josh Cave rounding out the top five.

It was Atkinson’s second CRA Sportsman feature win of the year having won the opening event of the year at Lucas Oil Raceway.

Two incidents in the first 20 laps knocked several of the leaders out of contention. The first took place on lap 12 when Rob Noel spun in turn one and collected the car of Jacob Garrigus.

An incident on lap 19 developed when slower traffic was running two wide in turn three and collected the cars of fast qualifier Billy VanMeter, John Heck, Trey Craig, Robert Amos Jr. and Joe Woodring. All were running in the top ten at the time, only Woodring was able to continue.

Rob Allman led the first seven laps when he slowed dramatically and pulled out of competition. That gave the lead to Hanley, who was passed by Spillers on a restart.

In his first appearance of the season, A.J. Ridner led all 30 laps to capture the Street Stock feature.

Ridner took the lead on the start from Danny Adams, who was passed by Josh Tharp on the third lap. Adams lost two more spots when he drifted high in turn two and was passed by Jimmy Kirby and fast qualifier Calvin Parham.

Tharp closed the gap on Ridner with three laps remaining as he two leaders closed on two slower cars, but Ridner held on for the win. Tharp finished second followed by Kirby, Parham and Tyler Marsh.

Curtis Chapman’s win streak in the WMDH Thunder Cars ended at five victories after making contact with the turn three wall with some assistance from Tom Gossar. Chapman was running third at the time.

Rob Allman led all 25 laps chased by Trent Gossar, who was able to stay on Allman’s rear bumper for the entire distance but unable to complete the pass.

Tom Gossar finished third followed by Jeff Hopkins and Craig Sutherland.

Jerry Dane claimed his fourth feature win of the 2013 season in the Front Wheel Drive Oval Division by taking the lead from Kamden Creek on the tenth lap with an inside pass entering turn three.

Elliott McKinney came home in second, followed by Paul Phipps, Creek and Jerry Swinford.

Kevin Henson led all 15 laps to record his fifth Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature of the year.

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Friday, July 19 and Saturday, July 20 with one of the crown jewel weekends of the season. On Friday, July 19, the JEGS/CRA All Stars presented by Chevrolet Performance Parts will be featured in the All Stars 100 and the MEP Late Models - Top Speed Fabrication CRA Late Model Sportsman Series will do battle in the PGG 75 presented by Motion Motors and Norick Petroleum.

On the Saturday, July 20, the ARCA/CRA Super Series competitors will continue the rich history of the Stoops Freightliner Redbud 300 presented by Qdoba, Anderson/Madison County Visitors Bureau and Hoosier Park.