Snyder Three Peats; Hacker Awarded Win

By Ken de la Bastide

(July 19, 2013) - There should be little doubt that Anderson Speedway is Trent Snyder’s favorite race track as he captured the JEGS All-Star Race Anderson 100 for the third consecutive year.

Snyder, who started 10th in the 20-car field, use the high groove entering turn one to get around leader Bubba Pollard on lap 69.

The Illinois driver used the high groove throughout the night to move to the front of the field. He passed Josh Nelms on lap 36 with an outside move on the front straight to claim the second spot.

Pollard, who was claiming the high groove on four early restarts, elected to move to the bottom groove on the final two restarts, which allowed Snyder to grab the lead.

Pollard finished second followed by Corey Deuser, Nelms and Tom Woodin.

“This is one of my favorite tracks,” Snyder said after the victory. “The track has been good to me.”

Snyder said he wasn’t sure which lane Pollard was going to select on the last restart, but knows a lot of the Super Late Model drivers elect to take the outside.

“I got close to passing him on the previous restart,” he said. “I got a good solid run and was able to keep him pinched on the bottom.”

Pollard led a race high 58 of the 100 laps said his car just wasn’t quite good enough for the victory.

“The car was getting tight toward the end,” he said. “We had a good run.”

Deuser starting on the pole position following the four-car restart from qualifying, led the first nine laps before Pollard went to the outside on the back straight to claim the lead.

The race was slowed six times by caution flags and there were two lead changes among three different drivers.

13-year-old Chris Hacker scored his first career victory when he awarded the PPG 75 presented by Motion Motors and Norrick Petroleum for the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models and CRA Sportsman divisions. Eddie Van Meter crossed the finish line in first position but failed post-race technical inspection.

The first 13 laps of the race were tough on drivers running in the second position, With K.C. Spillers in the lead the first second place driver to have a problem was Jacob Garrugus who spun on the ninth lap in turn one.

Then it was second place running J.H. Haley who spun in turn three on lap 12 after contact from Eddie VanMeter.

The third driver to have back luck while running second was Eddie VanMeter, who spun in turn two on the lap 13 restart collecting the cars of fast qualifier Trey Craig and Jason Atkinson.

VanMeter worked his way back through the field moving into the second spot on lap 54 with an outside pass of Chris Hacker on the front straight.

After bumping Spillers several times entering turn three, VanMeter claimed the top spot on lap 58.

Following VanMeter to the checkers was Hacker, Spillers, Mark Lambert and Haley. After VanMeter’s disqualification the adjusted top five was Hacker, Spillers, Mark Lambert, Haley and Josh Cave.

On the Saturday, July 20, the ARCA/CRA Super Series competitors will continue the rich history of the Stoops Freightliner Redbud 300 presented by Qdoba, Anderson/Madison County Visitors Bureau and Hoosier Park.