Poore Makes It Three In A Row;
Chapman Returns to Winner's Circle

By Ken de la Bastide

(July 27, 2013) - Josh Poore scored his third consecutive win in Street Stock action Saturday at Anderson Speedway but he had to work for the win.

Poore passed Jimmy Kirby with an outside move coming off the fourth corner on lap 18 to record the victory on Edgewater Woods “Alzheimer’s Awareness Night” at Anderson Speedway

For the first five laps the front running five cars were running in a tight pack with Brandon Mefford holding the point chased by Kirby, Calvin Parham, Poore and Tyler Marsh.

Kirby took the lead from Mefford with an inside move on the front straight with Poore making a similar move four laps later coming off the fourth corner.

Two laps later Parham, the fast qualifier, slowed with a flat tire which ended his night.

Poore chased Kirby for nine laps before making the deciding pass. Mefford passed Kirby with an outside power move entering turn three. Jacob

McElfresh made the final pass among the front runners on lap 27 with an outside move around Andrew Cook.

Following Poore to the checkers were Mefford, Kirby, Marsh and McElfresh.

“Jimmy (Kirby) gave me some room on the outside,” Poore said of the winning pass. “That’s the way you’re supposed to do it.”

Poore earlier won the Street Stock 200 and a $1,500 to win 75-lap feature.

Curtis Chapman returned to the winner’s circle in the WMDH Thunder Car Division by leading the entire distance to record his seventh win in eight starts this season.

Rob Allman ran the first 15 laps in Chapman’s tire tracks but was never able to get close enough to challenge for the lead.

On the race’s only restart Chapman was able to maintain his lead over Allman, who had to hold off a determined charge from Trent Gossar. Jeff Hopkins finished third with Austin Russell rounding out the top five.

Chapman’s winning effort was aided by mechanical problems befalling the car of Tom Gossar, who had set fast time during qualifications. Gossar dropped out of competition after running one lap and was third at the time.

Kevin Henson survived a partial spin on lap 11 that cost him the second position, but came back to win the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature at the checkers over Elliott McKinney.

The pair was followed by Mike Alley, Donnie Ellis Jr. and Randy Hoppes. Jerry Dane made a nifty move at the start of the Front Wheel Drive oval division on the opening lap going from the fourth spot to the lead and went on to record his fifth win of the season.

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, August 3, with the Murat Shine Night featuring Street Stocks, Front Wheel Drives Oval & Figure 8, WMDH ThunderCars and Thunder Roadsters.