Dane Scores Fifth Front Wheel Drives Oval Feature; Phipps, Hoppes Score Heat Wins

By Ken de la Bastide

(July 29, 2013) - Jerry Dane made a gutsy move on the opening stanza of the Front Wheel Drive Oval Division feature and then drove away to his fifth feature win at Anderson Speedway.

Starting on the outside of the second row, Dane dove between two cars exiting the second corner and then grabbed the lead entering turn three from Dylan Hoppes.

From there it was clear sailing for the Noblesville driver who won by more than 3-seconds over Elliott McKinney.

McKinney used the low groove to pass Hoppes on the back straight on the second circuit. At the same time Paul Phipps passed both Kevin Henson and Hoppes to be running in the fourth spot.

Phipps passed Kamden Creek on the fourth lap with an inside pass coming off the second corner to claim the third spot. Creek finished followed by Austin McKinney, who passed Hoppes on lap 11.

Since returning to action, Dane has scored five feature wins in eight
starts, set quick time six times and has only finished outside the top
five on one occasion.

Phipps won the first of the two heat races with a pass of McKinney on lap eight with an outside move coming off the fourth corner.

Dane passed McKinney on the penultimate lap with a similar move in turn three to come home in second.

Hoppes scored his first ever win at Anderson Speedway in the second heat race leading the entire distance. He was chased by Kevin Henson for most of the race until Henson was black-flagged by exceeding his qualifying time.

Following Hoppes to the checkers were Kevin Harmon, Henson and Jared Keller.