Burge Claims Street Stock Win; Tom Gossar Gets First WMDH ThunderCar Victory

By Ken de la Bastide

(August 3, 2013) - Dustin Burge scored his second Street Stock division win of the 2013 season on Murat Shrine Night at the races at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Burge ran side by side with Tyler Marsh during the opening two stanzas and took over the lead coming off the fourth corner when Marsh suffered a flat left front tire.

With Marsh slowing, Burge was able to open a comfortable lead over Calvin Parham, Jimmy Kirby and Danny Adams who ran nose to tail for the entire 30 laps.

Parham maintained the preferred racing line and never got out of the low groove in holding off Kirby and Adams, Larry Lathan gave home in fifth.

With his second place finish Parham gained valuable points in the championship chase over Marsh, who finished last.

After a disappointing outing a week ago Tom Gossar set fast time and then led all 25 laps to capture his first WMDH ThunderCar feature win of the year.

Gossar was pressed the entire 25-lap distance by Rob Allman. Gossar had to survive one restart after Nick Lewis lost the left front wheel in turn two just past the mid-point.

On the restart Allman attempted to make an outside pass but was unable to complete the pass. Trent Gossar used the outside line to pass Curtis Chapman on down the back straight to finish third. Robbie Wyman came home in fifth.

A week ago Gossar set the fast time but failed to start the feature event with a cracked torque converter.

Jerry Dane made it three feature wins in a row and six this season in the Front Wheel Drive Oval Division leading the entire distance.

Dane set fast time, won a heat race and the feature for the second time this year. He was chased the entire distance by Paul Phipps, who was able to get a run on Dane on the final lap when the leader encountered a lapped car on the back straight.

Kamden Creek, Marshall Clark Jr. and point leader Elliott McKinney rounded out the top five.

Defending champion Mike Alley scored his first Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature win of the year by holding off this season’s hot driver Kevin Henson.

Alley had to survive lapped traffic on the final two laps to beat Henson by four-tenths of a second. Elliott McKinney and Nick Warner swapped the third spot several times before McKinney prevailed. Randy Hoppes came home in fifth.

James Edsel recorded his second Thunder Roadster feature win of the year and first since April by a comfortable margin over John Robbins. It was only Edsel’s second appearance of the year at Anderson Speedway.

Edsel, who was the fast qualifier, was never challenged after the opening laps to record the victory. Doug Dugger finished third followed by Chris Weddel and Nate Shrout.

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, August 10, with Top Speed Fabrication CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS, WMDH ThunderCars along with Front Wheel Drives Oval & Figure 8's