Craig Claims CRA Late Model Sportsman Win; Allman Holds Off Gossar for WMDH ThunderCar Victory

By Ken de la Bastide

(August 10, 2013) - Trey Craig took advantage of the low groove opening up with 10 laps remaining to claim his second CRA Top Speed Fabrication Sportsman Late Model win of the year at Anderson Speedway.

There was plenty of action over the course of the final 15 laps as leader Danny Trent battling a left rear tire going flat while being pressured by Mark Lambert, Craig and Bobby Blount.

Trent’s effort to maintain the lead ended on lap 65 when he spun going down the back straight. That put Mark Lambert into the lead with Blount lining up on the outside.

On the restart Lambert and Blount drifted high in turn two which allowed Craig to dive to the inside and grab the lead and the victory. He was followed to the checkers by Lambert, K.C. Spillers, Trent and Blount. Craig also set the fast time during qualifying and started eighth in the 22-car field, working his way to the front.

Jason Atkinson led the first 14 laps of the race before Trent was able to get inside entering turn three.

There were four caution periods in the first 10 laps, and only four over the final 65 circuits.

For 25 laps Rob Allman was able to keep Tom Gossar and Curtis Chapman at bay to record his second WMDH ThunderCar feature win of the season.

Allman, who set quick time, jumped into the lead at the start but was never able to pull more than a half a car length lead over Tom Gossar with Chapman glued to the tail of Gossar.

Allman won over Tom Gossar by .179-seconds followed by Chapman, Tommy Brown Jr. and Trent Gossar.

During the past four events, Allman has scored two victories and two runner-up finishes.

Paul Phipps led the entire distance to win his first feature win since the first week of the season in the Front Wheel Drive Oval Division.

The driver to watch was Jerry Dane, who went to a back-up car for the feature and started at the tail of the field and worked his way up to a second place finish. Kamden Creek, Elliott McKinney and Marshall Clark Jr. rounded out the top five.

With the victory Phipps took the point lead over McKinney by eight points in the championship battle.

Kevin Henson dominated Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 action for his seventh feature win of the year.

Henson took the lead from the pole position and steadily pulled away from Mike Alley and Elliott McKinney. Brian McKinney and Randy Hoppes rounded out the top five.

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, August 17, with the BestWay Disposal Must See Racing Spectacular featuring the TruFuel Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series in a 50-lap event. Other divisions in action include CRA Street Stocks, Thunder Roadsters, Front Wheel Drives Oval