TrueFuel Must See Racing Xtreme Sprints and CRA Street Stocks Return on Saturday

By Ken de la Bastide

(August 14, 2013) - The Winged Sprint Cars will make their final season appearance at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, August 17 when the TruFuel Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series compete in the BestWay Disposal 50. The Stealth Trailers CRA Street Stocks, Front Wheel Drives Oval and Thunder Roadsters will also be in action.

The TruFuel Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series will race at Anderson Speedway for the second occasion this season. In the first race on Wednesday, May 22 during Pay Less Little 500 Week, starting from the pole position Jacob Wilson won by 4.67-seconds over Aaron Pierce with Jo Jo Helberg in third position. Troy DeCaire and Brian Olson rounded out the top five.

In the season standings, Helberg holds a slim 12 point lead over Brian Gerster. Third is two-time champion Troy DeCaire with Aaron Pierce and most recent Anderson winner Jacob Wilson completing the top five.

Helberg has won the previous two August events at Anderson with MSRXSS. Last August, he was chased across the finish line by Wilson and Pierce. The California native also holds the qualifying track record of 10.168 seconds set in May of 2012.

This will be the eighth MSRXSS event of the season. Drivers that have earned feature victories include Ryan Litt at Five Flags (FL) Speedway on March 22; Jo Jo Helberg at Mobile (AL) International Speedway on March 24 and Winchester (IN) Speedway on May 19, Jacob Wilson at Anderson (IN) Speedway on May 22, Aaron Pierce at Auto City (MI) Speedway on July 3, Brian Gerster at Kil-Kare (OH) Speedway on July 19 and most recently Brian Olson at Salem (IN) Speedway on August 10.

On Saturday night, the CRA Street Stocks will compete in a 75-lap feature. This is the final appearance of the division this year. Feature winners at Anderson include Dustin Burge, Jason Atkinson and Josh Poore, who earned the victory in the 200-lap event in June. Burge sits atop the CRA point standings with J.J. Shaffer in second spot, 18 points behind Burge. The remainder of the top five includes Jimmy Kirby, Calvin Parham and Josh Myers.

The Anderson Speedway Street Stock division will also be part of the event on Saturday. Parham leads the standings with Tyler Marsh in second, 53 points behind first place. Third is Danny Adams with Kirby and Andrew Cook filling out the top five.

With scoring his second feature victory of the season, Paul Phipps extended his points lead in the Front Wheel Drives Oval division to 50 markers over Elliott McKinney. Third is Jerry Dane with Dylan Hoppes in fourth and Jesse Thomas in fifth position.

The Thunder Roadsters will race at Anderson for the fifth time this year. James Edsel and Marty Griffin have both visited the winner’s circle twice.

On Saturday, August 17, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $15 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free. HARF Members are admitted for $8