Hopkins Wins MEP Late Model Feature; Warner, Robbins, Brown Also Visit Winner's Circle

(September 7, 2013) -
New Castle driver Fred Hopkins became the latest driver to record a win in the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, September 7.

Hopkins led all 35 laps on AERCO Heating & Cooling night, but he was chased the entire distance by pack of cars first led by Rob Allman followed by Jeff Marcum, Danny Trent and Ronnie Rose.

The only caution flag waved on lap 15 when Chris Hacker, Brandon Mefford and Joe Woodring tangled in turn three while batting for position.

On the restart Hopkins was able to maintain the lead over Allman, who lost positions to Marcum, Trent, Wes Russell Jr. and Ronnie Phipps over the next five laps.

At the finish it was Hopkins followed by Marcum, who held off fast qualifier Trent over the final two laps.

In the Front Wheel Drives Oval, Nick Warner made the move of the night on a restart on lap four using the low line to go from eighth to the lead and into the Tim Thompson Nationwide Insurance Winner’s Circle.

With Marshall Clark Jr. and point leader Paul Phipps on the front row for the restart, Warner took off when the green flag waved and had secured the lead when the time the field reached turn one.

Phipps extended his point lead over Elliott McKinney by finishing second. Clark finished third followed by Jerry Dane and McKinney.

Frankton’s John Robbins captured his fourth feature win of the season in the Legends Division, taking the lead from Mark Dietzen on lap 20 with an inside pass entering turn one.

Dietzen finished second with Aaron Holden coming home in third.

Darrell Brown took advantage of an eight-car inversion to lead the entire distance to record his first Thunder Roadster feature win of the year.

He was chased the entire distance by David Lobbia with fast qualifier Chris Weddel working his way through the field to finish third.

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, September 14 with Hoosier Park Racing & Casino Night presented by Storm Water Quality Partnership featuring Top Speed Fabrication CRA Late Model Sportsman Series, Stealth Trailers CRA Street Stocks and Kenyon Midgets.