Warner Gets Second Feature Victory

By Ken de la Bastide

(September 9, 2013) - Nick Warner made the move of the night on a restart on lap four using the low line to go from eighth to the lead and driving into the Tim Thompson Nationwide Insurance Winner’s Circle.

With Marshall Clark Jr. and point leader Paul Phipps on the front row for the restart in the Front Wheel Drive Oval Division feature, Warner took off when the green flag waved and had secured the lead when the field entered turn one.

After Warner took the lead Phipp’s used the outside line entering turn one to grab the second spot, with Elliott McKinney breaking into the top five with pass of Ryan Claborn.

“I took over when it went green,” Warner said of the winning move. “I almost ran into the back of the car in front of me.”

Over the final ten laps Jerry Dane passed both Claborn and McKinney to finish in the top five.

Following Warner and Phipps to the checkered flag were Clark, Dane and McKinney.

With his second place finish Phipps extended his point lead over McKinney for the championship in the division. Entering the night Phipps had a 36-point lead.

There was plenty of action in the first of the two heat race on AERCO Heating & Cooling night at the races.

Ryan Claborn grabbed the early lead chased by Brandon Cook and Phipps with McKinney and Dane rounding out the top five.

Phipps, McKinney and Dane all got around Cook over the next three laps.

Phipps moved to the point on the fifth lap with an inside pass of Calborn entering turn three.

But the driver to watch over the final four laps was Warner. First he passed Cook entering turn one on lap seven, a lap leader he got inside of McKinney on the back straight and started closing on Phipps.

On the ninth lap Warner used the outside line on the front straight to take the lead and the victory. Phipps finished second followed by McKinney, Dabe and Clark.

In the second heat Austin McKinney worked his way from the third spot by passing Jesse Thomas and Kash Wable to move into the lead after three laps.

From there he was chased by Kamden Creek with Devon Lane, Dylan Hoppes and Wable rounding out the top five.