Brown Scores First Roadster Win; Robbins Sweeps Legends

By Ken de la Bastide

(September 9, 2013) - Darrell Brown was feeling “great” after recording his initial Thunder Roadster feature win at Anderson Speedway on AERCO Heating & Cooling night.

Taking advantage of an invert of the fastest eight drivers during qualifying, Brown led from the start of the feature, but was never able to shake David Lobbia.

Fast qualifier Chris Weddel moved into the tip five after six laps, but it then took him 15 circuits to get around Nate Shrout.

Following Brown to the finish line were Lobbia, Weddel, Shrout and Doug Dugger.

John Robbins led from green to checkers in the first of two heat races to record his fourth win of the year.

Behind Robbins, Marty Griffin was pressed by Weddel over the final seven laps for the runner-up position. Shrout and Dugger rounded out the top five.

Brown captured the win in the second heat followed by Mike Carroll, Chase Lane, Rob Allman and Ross Schoeller.

In Legends action, Robbins set fast time than went out to win the heat and feature races.

Robbins chased Mark Dietzen for 20 laps before making the deciding pass with five circuits remaining with an inside pass entering turn one.

Robbins and Dietzen were followed to the checkers by Aaron Holden, Carroll and Griffin.

In the heat race Robbins got inside of Holden racing down the back straight on the fourth lap to get his fourth hear win of the year.

Dietzen also passed Holden on the same lap coming off the fourth corner to claim the second position. Carroll and Griffin rounded out the top five.