Warner Dominates IOS Front Wheel Drive Action

By Ken de la Bastide 

(September 24, 2013) -
Nick Warner worked his way through the field passing Elliott McKinney with an outside pass entering turn one with six laps remaining to win the IOFS Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 event.

Once Warner took the lead, McKinney and Ryan Claborn exchanged paint while battling for the second spot on lap 12. Both drivers were disqualified for unsportsmanlike conduct.

McKinney too the lead at the start, climbing eight spots on the first lap as the fast qualifiers were inverted. Claborn and Mike Alley moved into the second and third positions after two laps with Warner claiming the third spot on the third lap.

Warner passed Claborn on lap seven with an inside move coming off the second corner and two laps later used the outside line in turn one to grab the point.

The race was slowed on the restart when Lawrence Kelly Jones and Jamie Valentine crashed in turn three.

Warner maintained the lead over the final four laps followed by Kevin Henson, Mike Alley, Mark Allman and Jeff Williams.

During qualifications Warner set a new track record with a time of 19.637-seconds, which shattered the mark he set on July 4 at 19.767-seconds.

McKinney led all eight laps to win the first of the two heat races with Kevin Henson chasing him from the start to finish.

Alley and Claborn passed Warner on the front straight on lap eight as Warner suffered a flat left rear tire.

Following McKinney and Henson to the checkers were Alley, Claborn and Warner.

The second heat race was won by Kenny Jones Jr., his first career win at Anderson Speedway.

Jones inherited the lead when early Jeff Williams pulled off the track after two laps. Justin Merchant finished second, the only other car running at the finish.