Nine Big Divisions Showcased in UAW Paint the Night Pink Season Championships


(October 2, 2013) - Anderson Speedway returns to action on Saturday, October 5 with UAW Paint the Night Pink Season Championships presented by Ponderosa. Featured divisions include USSA Sprint Cars, MEP Late Models, Street Stocks, NASH FM ThunderCars, USSA Mel Kenyon Midgets, Front Wheel Drives Oval, Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s, Legends and Thunder Roadsters.

Aaron Pierce takes a slim 28 point lead over Tony Hunt into the UAW Presents American Cancer Society Making Strides to End Breast Cancer “Paint the Night Pink” Championship Night event. Pierce has won at Anderson twice already in 2013, taking the Glen Niebel Classic and 50-lap feature on September 21.

Hunt led the point race going into the September 21 race when a fifth place finish allowed Piece to slip by into the point lead. Neunschwander jumped to the third position on the strength of a strong performance in qualifying and his strong second place finish. Neunschwander sits just 75 points off the lead ready to take advantage of any slip by Pierce and Hunt.

In the MEP Late Models, Ronnie Rose holds a 141 point advantage over Ronnie Rose. The remainder of the top five includes Joe Woodring, Chris Hacker and three-time feature winner Jeff Marcum.

Visiting the Tim Thompson Nationwide Insurance Winner’s Circle on September 28 helped Curtis Parham extend his Street Stock point’s lead to 85 markers. Five top-five performances have placed Tyler Marsh in second spot with Danny Adams ranked in third position. Fourth is Andrew Cook with 2012 champion Jimmy Kirby in fifth.

Seven feature victories and 10 top-10 finishes have placed Curtis Chapman atop the NASH FM ThunderCar standings. He leads Trent Gossar by 66 markers. The top five is rounded out by Rob Allman, Tom Gossar and Austin Russell.

The season-long points battle between Paul Phipps and Elliott McKinney will be settled in the 25-lap feature for the Front Wheel Drive Oval division. Phipps holds a 49 point advantage in the points tally. Seven-time main event winner Jerry Dane is third with Jesse Thomas and Austin McKinney filling out the top five.

Kevin Henson has a virtual lock on the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 championship. He enters the finale with a 230 point lead on Elliott McKinney. 12 top-10 finishes has placed Jamie Valentine in third with Mark Allman in fourth and Brian McKinney ranked fifth.

Four feature victories and consistent finishes have John Robbins on the verge of the Legends title. He holds a 104 point lead on Aaron Holden. The remainder of the top five includes Mark Dietzen, Eric Black and Mike Carroll.

The closest margin heading into season championships is the battle for the Thunder Roadsters title. Griffin has posted a season best three feature wins to help construct a 12 point margin over Doug Dugger. Third is John Robbins with Nate Shrout and David Lobbia completing the top five.

The USSA Mel Kenyon Midgets will make their third and final appearance at the quarter-mile oval. Feature winners this season include Spencer Bayston on April 14 and most recently Cordy Horn on September 14.

On Saturday, October 5, spectator gates open at 2 p.m. with the racing beginning at 5. Admission is $17 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.