Shackleford wins National Crown
Warner, Goodin, Bertino Get Victories

By Ken de la Bastide

 (October 12, 2013) - For 86 laps Jeff Shackleford held off a determined Jesse Tunney to capture the 64th running of the Tim Thompson Nationwide Insurance National Crown at Anderson Speedway.

Shackleford recorded his second career IOFS feature win and became the sixth consecutive different winner in the oldest running stock car race in the county in the past six years.

For 86 laps Tunney ran a clean race against Shackleford as he attempted to make the decisive pass to claim the victory. Several times Tunney moved to the outside of Shackleford in turn three, but was never able to complete the pass.

Robbie Loving came home third, the only other car on the lead lap, with RJ Norton III and Steve Durham rounding out the top five.

It was a tough night for drivers in the top five as first early leader Jeremy Vanderhoof was taken out in the crossover by making contact with Manny Agular.

Next it was Mike Riddle to see his night end in the crossover while running third when he was collected by Randy Pence. Finally it was Larry Swinford collected in the crossover while running fifth after making contact with Tom Laythom.

“What makes this special, this is the toughest Figure-8 track in the country,” Shackleford said. “I held off one of the best shoes.”

Nick Warner capped off his championship season with the IOFS Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 Division by setting a new track record and then dominating the feature race.

Warner took the lead on lap two from Brian McKinney on the front straight and was never challenged for the victory. Elliott McKinney came home second followed by Kevin Henson, Brian McKinney and Austin McKinney.

Angie Goodin made it two consecutive feature wins in the IOFS Super Carts inheriting the lead on lap 14 when leader Dustin Kares spun on the back straight.

The early lead was taken by Jason Reynolds who tangled with Brad Kares on lap 13 in turn two, which gave the lead momentarily to Kares.

Kares recovered to finish second to Goodin with David Reynolds, Michael Goodin and Jason Reynolds rounding out the top five.

Nathan Bertino took the lead from the fourth starting spot and led the entire distance to capture the feature victory in the first visit of the Mini-Cups to Anderson Speedway in 2013.

Fast qualifier Jayden Cave worked his way back through the field moving into the second position with an inside pass of Bryce Whitson entering turn one on the tenth lap.

Although Cave closed on Bertino he had to settle for the second spot. Whitson finished third with Jayden Fryer and Brody Hays rounding out the top five. Hays recovered to finish in the top five after starting on the tail of the 13-car field

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, October 19 with the rescheduled UAW Paint the Night Season Championships presented by Ponderosa. Nine features headline the program with point champions being crowned in each division featuring the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models, NASH FM ThunderCars; Front Wheels Drive Oval, Front Wheel Drive Figure 8, Thunder Roadsters, Street Stocks, Legends, Kenyon Midgets and USSA Sprints.