Black, Robbins Earn Wins;
Robbins, Griffin Crowned champs

By Ken de la Bastide

(October 20, 2013) - John Robbins captured the Thunder Roadster feature by passing eventual champion Marty Griffin with 19 laps remaining on UAW Paint the Night Pink at Anderson Speedway.

Doug Dugger entering the night only 12 points back of Griffin took the lead from the pole position, but the lead only lasted one lap with Griffin making an inside move entering turn three.

Robbins moved inside of Dugger entering the first corner and set his sights on Griffin. After closing to Griffin’s rear bumper, Robbins took the lead entering turn three and went on to beat Griffin by a half-second followed by Doug Dugger, Nate Shrout and Mike Carroll.

Griffin was crowned the season champion as a result of his second place finish and Dugger’s third place run.

Eric Black set fast time and led the entire distance to record his first feature win of the season in the Legend Division by holding off Robbins.

Robbins was glued to Black’s rear bumper, although he bobbled a couple of times in the corner Robbins was unable to make the pass. Mark Dietzen came home in third.

Robbins won his fourth point championship. His previous titles came in 2007, 2008 and 2011.