Pierce Wins USSA Championship; Bayston Claims Kenyon Midget crown

By Ken de la Bastide

 (October 19, 2013) - Aaron Pierce continued his dominance of the USSA Sprint Car Challenge by winning for the third time this season and capturing the inaugural championship.

On UAW Paint the Night Pink at Anderson Speedway, which raised over $20,000 to fight breast cancer, Pierce started fourth in the 50-lap feature and immediately went to the high side to move into contention for the lead.

Pendleton’s Travis Welpott led the first four laps before being passed by Tony Hunt using the high line entering turn one and Pierce followed suit on the front straight.

Pierce and Kody Swanson got inside of Hunt on lap nine and from there the Daleville driver was never seriously challenged for the lead.

The only caution flag waved on lap 20 when Welpott spun coming off the fourth corner. At the same time fast qualifier Brian Olson was forced from the race with a water leak while running fifth.

Following Pierce to the checkers was Olson, Chris Neuenschwander, Hunt and Brad Armstrong.

Garrett Green captured rookie of the year honors.

Pierce said he has a good set-up for the Anderson Speedway high-banked oval.

“I’ve been racing here since 1996,” he said. “I’ve got a lot of laps here.

Swanson filing in for the team’s regular driver said racing at Anderson Speedway was a “blast”.

Spencer Bayston capped off his championship season with the Mel Kenyon Midget Series by recording his tenth win of the year.

Driving a borrowed car from Travis Young after his mount lost an engine during qualifying, Bayston passed early leader Cordy Horn with an inside move on the back straight on the ninth lap.

Horn settled into the second spot with Cole Fehr and Jessica Bean battling for the third spot. On lap 25 Bean spun in turn four and was sent to the rear of the field.

Bayston was followed to the checkers by Horn, Cole Fehr, Don Petit and Clayton Gaines. Bean recovered to finish sixth.

With his fifth place finish Gaines captured rookie of the year honors over Fehr.