67th Season Opener Moved to Sunday Afternoon

(March 26, 2014) - 
Anderson Speedway officials announced that the opening event for the 2014 season, originally scheduled for Saturday night,   has been moved to Sunday afternoon.

This weekend’s opening event will showcase the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman and NASH FM ThunderCars in twin 75-lap features along with an appearance from the Legends. All weather sources have indicated poor weather conditions and cold temperatures for Saturday. The forecast for Sunday is sunny with temperatures in the sixties.

“It goes without saying that the weather has been difficult for us this Winter” said Rick Dawson, President of Anderson Speedway. “It has apparently carried on for one more day. We are anxious to get the season started and it appears that Sunday’s weather will be the perfect cure for cabin fever, which we all have! We anticipate a lot of cars for this event from all over the Midwest and look forward to a great show.”

Sunday’s race program will feature the McGunegill Engine/CRA Late Model Sportsman cars and the NASH ThunderCars, both in 75 lap features and the 2014 inaugural appearance of the INEX Legends in a 35 lap feature.

Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

Gates will open at a special time on Sunday at 12:30 with qualifying at 2 and the racing action will begin at 3, under the anticipated sunny skies.

The Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS will open their season at Anderson Speedway, marking the first of five series events at the high-banked quarter-mile oval. The CRA Late Model Sportsman will battle against the competitors from the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models. Jason Atkinson, Jeff Marcum, Trey Craig and 13 year old Chris Hacker all picked up one series victory a piece at Anderson in 2013.

Mark Lambert won the 2013 Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Championship after a tough season long battle with second place finisher KC Spillers. Atkinson was third in series points and led the series with four wins. Rookie of the Year Chris Hacker was fourth in points while Robert Amos Jr. rounded out the top five.

Atkinson is now the series all-time victory leader with 13, Keith Sterkowitz is second with 10 wins while Steve Minich Jr. is third with six victories.

Last year in the MEP Late Models, Ronnie Rose earned the track championship with Rob Allman and Joe Woodring filling out the top three. Chris Hacker and Jeff Marcum rounded out the top five.

The 75-lap event for the NASH FM ThunderCars is the lone non-point events for the division this season with 13 points events set for the 2014 season. In 2013, Curtis Chapman earned the division crown on the strength of six feature wins, 10 top-five finishes and 11 top 10s. Behind Chapman in the final standings included Trent Gossar and Rob Allman.

The Legends will do battle in a 35-lap main event. Last season, John Robbins earned his fourth division title. He amassed four wins and finished nearly 400 points ahead of his closest challenger Mark Dietzen. Other drivers to reach the winner’s circle included Andy Jones, Jacob Schneider, Kevin Donahue and Eric Black.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit andersonspeedway.com or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206. Fans may also like Anderson Speedway on Facebook and Twitter to obtain updates.