Four Pay Less Little 500 Champions Entered for 66th Running in May

By Ken de la Bastide

(April 7, 2014) - Four former winners of the Pay Less Little 500 have submitted their entries for the 66th running of the sprint car classic at Anderson Speedway on May 24.

With close to two months before qualifying begins for the Little 500 there are already 14 drivers and 15 cars entered for the race.

Jacob Wilson the defending race champion is returning to Anderson Speedway hoping to make it two wins in a row. Wilson won one of the most exciting Little 500’s in history by holding off Shane Cottle, who lost an engine with six laps remaining.

Cottle, the 2008 race winner returns in a Contos Racing entry along with teammate Brian Tyler, the 2006 and 2012 champion. In 20 career starts

Tyler has recorded four top five and six top ten finishes.

The 2011 champion Chris Windom is returning to the Little 500 after a two-year absence. Windom has three career Little 500 starts.

Fan favorite Tony Elliott will be looking to make his 21st career start in a Gene Nolan car. Elliott’s best finish was a second place run in 2008 and he has scored nine top ten and seven top five finishes in his career.

Shane Hollingsworth is returning in a Gene Nolan owned car for his fifth Little 500 start; he has a career best finish of third in 2011. Jerry Coons Jr. will be behind the wheel of a third Nolen prepared car. Coons failed to qualify for the 2013 race when a mechanical problem ended the team’s effort.

Local drivers entered include Aaron Pierce who was the pole winner in the2006 and 2011 races. He has made 20 career starts and has finished second in both 2004 and 2007.

Alexandria driver Donnie Adams Jr. won the pole position in 2007. In his eight career starts, Adams recorded a third place finish in 2009.

Bobby Santos III, a regular in open wheel competition with USAC and the Whelen Modified Series, will be looking to make his first Little 500 start in the Fred Gormly owned sprint car.