Jerry Dane Starts Season With Trip to Winner's Circle

By Ken de la Bastide

(April 7, 2014) - It was a good opening night to the 2014 season for Front Wheel Drive Oval division competitor Jerry Dane.

Dane set fast qualifying time on Tom Raper RV Night at the Races and then went on to win the feature event.

Driving for Jim Warner Racing, Dane climbed from the fourth position to take the lead on lap eight from Ron Phipps and was unchallenged the rest of the distance.

Phipps took the lead from Austin McKinney on lap three with an inside move on the front straight.

McKinney was passed by Dane on lap six and continued to run in the top three until lap 11 when he lost positions to Billy Hooten and Marshall Clark.

Coming home second was Phipps, followed by Marshall Clark, Billy Hooten and Brandon Lee Cook.

In the first heat race for the division, Marshall Clark led from start to finish to record his initial win of 2014.

Dane was running third on lap three when he suffered a flat tire, barely missing the outside retaining wall in turn two.

Clark was followed to the checkers by Phipps, Hooten, Jared Keller and Dane.

Justin Clark won the second heat race by using the outside line on a lap three restart to get the jump on McKinney.

Brandon Lee Cook recovered from a lap two spin to finish third with a late charge. Eric Wiley and Bill Overshiner rounded out the top five.