Season Debut for Street Stocks and Thunder Roadsters on Saturday Plus Front Wheel Drives Return

(April 8, 2014) -
Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, April 12 with Street Stocks and Thunder Roadsters making their season debuts. The Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action will also be part of the exciting racing program.

Last season, Calvin Parham collected his initial Street Stock title with posting two feature wins and eight top-five finishes. Tyler Marsh finished in second spot with Danny Adams listed in third position. Former champion Jimmy Kirby and Andrew Cook filled out the top five.

Josh Poore led the Street Stock division with four feature wins while Jason Atkinson and Dustin both visited the winner’s circle on two occasions. Single event winners in 2013 included Kirby, Jake McEflresh and A.J. Ridner.

In the Thunder Roadsters, Marty Griffin experienced a dominant season in 2013, winning three of the 8 features held at Anderson Speedway. Other drivers that won main events included Darrell Brown, Doug Dugger, James Edsell (2) and John Robbins.

The Front Wheel Drive Oval division competed for the first occasion on April 5 with Jerry Dane continuing his dominance from last year. He was followed across the finish line by Ron Phipps and Marshall Clark. Heat race victories went to Marshall Clark and Justin Clark.

Nick Warner took top honors in the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 division, making it a Warner Racing sweep in Front Wheel Drive Oval and Figure 8 competition. Elliott McKinney and Kevin Henson filled out the podium in the Figure 8 feature.

On Saturday, April 12, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 7. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.