Boyer, Chapman, Stevens and Beaver Open 2006 Season with Feature Wins

By Kyle Larson
Public Relations Director

Click to View Results - Photo Gallery

Two dominating performances, a late-race pass and a hotly-contested battle got the 2006 season off to a spectacular start during The Star Press Saturday Night Series at Anderson Speedway on April 1.

Three-time defending champion Rich Boyer sent an early message in the Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stock feature by dominating the first feature race of the year. Boyer, of Anderson, started deep the 22-car field and made it up to third by the end of the second lap. Boyer took the lead on lap seven and cruised to a straightaway-length victory by the finish.

Neil Huddleston of Maxwell, Rod Phipps of Anderson, Danny Acrey II
of New Castle and Dennis Moser of Lapel rounded out the top five.

Domination was also the name of the game in the Insight ThunderCar feature as Rookie Brad Stevens cruised to a huge advantage. Anderson drivers Dustin Burge, Nick Warner, Larry Sargent and Tim Dick completed the top five. Dick and Clifford Owens of McCordsville captured preliminary heat events.

Noblesville’s Joe Beaver picked up his first victory of 2006 in the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck feature. Robert Lemen of Indianapolis took the lead on the fifth of 40 circuits from New Castle’s Mark Jones. Lemen then led until the 34th lap when he drifted high in turn two, opening the door for Beaver.

Beaver cruised to a comfortable advantage at the finish. Lemen ended up second while Josh Burton and Josh Poore staged a spirited battle for third. Jones rounded out the top five. Jones won the first SuperTruck heat while Yorktown’s Andrew Brown scored the victory in the second heat.

The night concluded with a great battle for the Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8 feature. 2005 champion Curtis Chapman took the lead on the lap five and then held off five other cars for the win. Noblesville’s Josh Tharp was hot on Chapman’s tail at the finish, followed by Anderson drivers Ranny Hinton, Ronnie Phipps, Rob Allman and Middletown’s Elliott McKinney.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action next weekend with a huge doubleheader. On Saturday, April 8, the CRA Street Stock 250 will be showcased on the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval. Also, the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 racing will make their 2006 debut.

On Sunday, April 9, the 7th Annual Glen Niebel Classic featuring the USAC National Sprint Cars in the Banjo 100 will take place. The CRA Sportsman will also be part of the racing program next Sunday.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.