Rose Picks Up Two Feature Wins; Riall and Boyer Also Score Victories

By Tom Hammond

Anderson’s Ronnie Rose got the Star Press Saturday Night Series off to a great start at Anderson Speedway by picking up feature wins in the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck and Boss Hogg Catering and Jerky Figure 8 divisions. Fans braved chilly temperatures and blustery winds to get their first taste of racing in the 2005 season.

Rose started his big night by taking the checkered flag in the 40-lap SuperTruck main event. He took the lead on the third lap and never looked back. The 2004 DT'S R Bar Rookie of the Year built a sizeable lead on two occasions, only to see the field bunched back up twice by caution periods.

Tom Miller held off Tony Broyles for second, followed by Robert Lemen and Derek Price to round out the top five. Broyles paced qualifying with a time of 13.656 seconds  and drew a half-inversion for the start. Defending points champion Josh Burton took top honors in the first heat, while Jeff Ellis captured the checkered flag in the second heat.

Rose also led from the get-go in the Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8 feature and was challenged by Rod Phipps the entire way. Rose held on for the three-car length victory with last year's champion Jeff Swinford grabbing third-place honors. Legend Herb Rose and John Goforth rounded out the top five.

Rose had the fast speed of the night in qualifying at 20.444 seconds and started from the pole after drawing a straight-up inversion. Jeff Swinford won the first figure 8 heat race, while Jason Pitts captured the second heat.

2004 Terry’s RV Sales and Service points champion Rich Boyer picked up where he left off last fall as he scored his first feature win of the year. However, it wasn’t without drama. Boyer, of Anderson, seemingly had the race in hand as he rounded the fourth turn on the final lap. He lost control of the car as it entered the front stretch, and skidded sideways across the finish line just ahead of Rod Phipps.

Curtis Chapman, Danny Acrey II and Bruce McFall completed the top five. Boyer had the quick lap in qualifying at 14.224 seconds and drew a half-inversion at the start. Street stock heat victories went to veteran New Castle driver Darwin Blankenship and Anderson’s Jason Puckett.

Alexandria’s Alice Riall was the beneficiary of some tough luck for Anderson’s Billy Riddle in the Insight Thunder Car oval feature. Riddle built a quarter-lap lead by the 19th lap, but mechanical failure sent him to the infield.

Riall took advantage for her first feature win of the season. William Coffman finished second, followed by A.J. Jones, Robert Brumback and Tom Tackett. Billy Riddle joined Brumback in the Texas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle with wins in the Thunder Car heats. Brandon Phillips paced qualifying with a speed of 15.742 seconds.

A doubleheader weekend is on tap April 9-10  at Anderson Speedway. The Star Press Saturday Night Series features Ed Martin SuperTrucks, Terry’s RV Sales and Service Street Stocks, Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8 cars along with the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives on the Oval and Figure 8.

The spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with racing beginning at 8 p.m. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

On Sunday, the 6th Annual Glen Niebel Classic brings the USAC National Sprints to the World’s Fastest Quarter-Mile Oval. They’ll be joined by the Insight Thunder Cars in Figure 8 action and the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive car in oval action. Admission is $15 for adults, $4 for kids ages 6-12 and free for kids five and under.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.