Rich Boyer Claims CRA Street Stock 250 Victory

By Tom Hammond
Staff Writer

Over the last three years Anderson’s Rich Boyer has won just about everything imaginable while racing Street Stocks at Anderson Speedway. The one win that’s eluded him during that time is a victory in a long distance Street Stock event. That changed during The Star Press Saturday Night Series as Boyer won the CRA Street Stock 250, giving him a $3,000 payday.

The early stages of the race featured action nearly all over the track with fans treated to three-wide racing on numerous occasions as the front end of the 40-car field caught up with the tail end of the second lap.

Beau Mitchell of Owensboro, Ky., who won last fall’s 250-lap Street Stock event, started from the pole and set the early pace. However, Mitchell’s night ended early when he left the race on the 25th lap with mechanical problems.

Noblesville’s Joe Beaver then inherited the point and held it until lap 49 when Anderson’s Rod Phipps passed Beaver in traffic. Beaver then relinquished the lead to Boyer on a lap 63 restart. Boyer avoided disaster on lap 104 when he spun in some oil left in turn two by another car. He only fell back to second and then re-took the point on the restart on lap 111.

Boyer maintained his advantage during the second half of the race despite repeated challenges from Phipps and Beaver. Phipps made one last run at Boyer over the last eight laps as Boyer got caught behind slower cars. Boyer edged Phipps at the finish line by 0.283 seconds.

The remainder of the top five included Beaver, Chuck Barnes Sr. and Brian Hopkins. The race was slowed by seven caution periods that covered 50 laps.

Mitchell won the eight-lap CRA Street Stock Trophy Dash among the top seven qualifiers. Boyer was second followed by Barnes, Beaver, Phipps, Riddle and Hopkins.

In other racing, Mt. Summit’s Keith Morris picked up his first win of 2006 in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval feature. Morris took the lead from Alexandria’s Kevin Harmon on the 11th of 20 laps and pulled away for a comfortable win. Harmon ended up second followed by Anderson’s Randy Owen, Zack Patterson and Jason Crist.

The first Front Wheel Drive heat went to Harmon after Eric Shell was disqualified for using illegally-sized tires, while Robert Mooreland took top honors in the second heat.

The Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 feature was captured by Anderson’s Travis Burge. Fellow Anderson driver Nick Warner challenged Burge for the win, but Burge somehow weaved his way through heavy crossover traffic on the seventh lap to pull away. Third at the checkers was Randy Owen with Allen Wagner and Bryce Hall completing the top five.

On Sunday, the 7th Annual Glen Niebel Classic featuring the USAC National Sprints in the Banjo 100 will take place on the World’s Fastest Quarter-Mile Oval. The Glen Niebel Classic has been increased by 50 laps to its new 100 lap distance. Also, the CRA Sportsman will make their debut at Anderson Speedway on Sunday afternoon in a 50-lap event.

On Sunday, spectator gates open at 11 a.m. with racing beginning at 2 p.m. Admission is $15 for adults, $4 for kids ages 6-12 and free for kids five and under

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.