CRA Super Series Late Models Invade Anderson Speedway on Saturday Night

By Kyle Larson
Public Relations

For the ninth consecutive year, the CRA Super Series Late Models will begin its season at Anderson Speedway in the Anderson 125 presented by Great Deals Coupon Magazine on Saturday, April 16. The world’s fastest quarter-mile oval will also host the Terry’s RV Sales & Service Street Stocks and Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s on Saturday Night.

The CRA Super Series Late Models were born at Anderson with the series' first event taking place on the legendary short track in April of 1997. The Late Models have made 35 appearances at the Central Indiana oval with two-time series champion Brian Ross winning nine races. Other multiple event winners include Kenny Tweedy, Junior Hanley, Bobby Parsley and Jim Cooper.

Twenty drivers have scored at least one victory at Anderson. In last year’s season-opening event, Knightstown competitor Jeff Lane recorded the victory, holding off challenges from eventual series champion Chuck Barnes Jr.

Several local drivers are expected to be in the starting field for the Anderson 125 presented by Great Deals Coupon Magazine including Bull Baker of Daleville, Jim Crabtree Jr. of Muncie, Jeff Lane of Knightstown, Alan Troxell of Middletown, Kenny Tweedy of Greenfield and Rick Turner of Yorktown.

Two-time defending Terry’s RV Sales & Service Street Stock Champion Rich Boyer has got off to a strong bid for his third consecutive championship with a victory on opening night and two finishes in the top two. He leads last week’s winner Rod Phipps by 46 markers in the point standings. Third in the points rundown is Lapel’s Dennis Moser, who grabbed fast time honors on April 9 and then finished in third spot. Curtis Chapman is fourth with veteran Bruce McFall rounding out the top five.

2004 Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8 champion Jeff Swinford quickly returned to the division point lead after winning the feature event on Saturday, April 9. He holds a seven-point cushion on Rod Phipps. Anderson’s Ronnie Rose ranks third in the standings with Michael Phipps and Josh Tharp completing the top five.

On Saturday, spectator gates open at 5 p.m., qualifying is set for 6:30 with racing beginning at 8. Admission is $13 for adults, $4 for kids ages 6-12 and free for kids five and under

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.