Weekend Tidbits:  Saturday, April 16

By Kyle Larson
Public Relations

Terry’s RV Sales & Service Street Stocks:

Rich Boyer posted the quickest lap in qualifications with an official clocking of 14.207 seconds. He was .022 seconds quicker than Curtis Chapman. The pole-winning time was the fastest lap turned in 2005 time trials.

Driving the Dave Hacker No. 7 sponsored by Progressive Masonry, Rod Phipps continued his stellar start to the 2005 campaign with finishing runner-up to Boyer. In three starts, Phipps has recorded two second-place performances and one feature victory.

After he was unable to take the green flag on April 9, Danny Acrey ll responded with a third-place run. The New Castle veteran led 16 circuits before crossing the finish line in third position. He climbed to eighth in the points tally, just 17 markers behind seventh ranking Jason Puckett.

Ronnie Phipps posted his second consecutive top-five finish in the J.D. Blankenship owned Street Stock with a fourth-place performance. The No 74 team ranks fourth in the standings with two top-five finishes.

Rookie Jacob McElfresh earned his best finish of his career with a fifth-place finish. He secured his first top-five with a lap eight pass on Bruce McFall.

Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s:

Driving the Bill Lawson owned No. 49 Figure 8, Anderson’s Jason Pitts had the top time during qualifying with a best lap of 20.275 seconds. His pole-winning lap set a new qualifying track record.

Former champion Mike Riddle Jr. and Middletown’s Elliott McKinney led flag-to-flag in heat races to score victories.

After turning in an impressive qualifying lap, Jason Pitts backed it up with a runner-up finish in the 20-lap main event. He also advanced three positions in the point standings to fourth.

Defending Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8 title holder Jeff Swinford posted his third straight top-three finish and continues to hold the first position in the points tally. He holds a nine-point cushion on Ronnie Rose after three events.

Producing another consistent finish, Ronnie Phipps wheeled the Robert Phipps owned No. 31 sponsored by Optical Communications to fourth place. This was his best showing in 2005.

Former division champion Mike Riddle Jr. has a successful evening, winning the fast heat race and also notching his second top-five finish.

Early race incident eliminated several drivers including Billy Palmer, Curtis Chapman and Johnny Magee.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.