58th Pay Less Little 500 Entry List Starting to Form

By Kyle Larson
Public Relations Director

Click to View Entry List - Little 500 Section

The event entries for the 58th Pay Less Little 500 have began to arrive in the Anderson Speedway office as the Month of May arrives. Currently, 19 teams have submitted official entries for the Sprint Car Classic slated for Saturday, May 27.

Attempting to make his 30th Pay Less Little 500 Starting field, Michiganís Jeff Bloom returns this year. Bloom has amassed three victories, five top five-finishes, seven top 10s and completed 6,437 laps. His three wins took place in his debut in 1972 with other victories taking place in 1977 and 1991. 

Californiaís Tony Hunt has performed outstanding, driving for three different teams in his four appearances at the Pay Less Little 500. He has posted three top-five finishes including a runner-up finish in 2003. Last year, aboard the Jason Goacher entry, he placed 14th after engine woes knocked him out of contention. He returns in the 5G this year with sponsorship from Deco Enterprises.

Teaming up with Nolen Racing, Bentley Warren aims for his third victory in the legendary Sprint Car event. His impressive stats in 12 events include two wins, five top-five finishes and eight top 10s while also leading 1,046 circuits.

2004 runner-up Aaron Pierce of Muncie, Ind., will pilot the No. 26 with sponsorship from Sam Pierce Chevrolet. He is a former winner of the Glen Niebel Classic. Pierce hopes to improve upon his 31st place effort last year.

Veteran Tracy Hines returns for a second straight appearance with Hoffman Auto Racing and Kroger. Last year, Hines scored the USAC Sam Pierce Chevrolet 50 victory on Wednesday night, but was disappointed with a 32nd place finish in his Pay Less Little 500 debut.

Another Golden State driver, Tim Barber of San Francisco, hopes to improve on his fourth-place finish in 2005. He will drive for Ken Pierson for the third straight occasion at this year's Pay Less Little 500.

Former Madison County resident Brian Tyler will compete in his 13th event this year. In the previous 12 races, bad luck has been a theme for Tyler as he has failed to finish seven events. His best effort was a runner-up in 1996 in the Contos racing Entry. Tyler will wheel the Harshbarger Farms entry in May.

Other drivers that will be involved in the 58th Pay Less Little 500 include defending pole winner Tom Fedewa, Danny Holtsclaw, Tyler Underwood, Brandon Whited, Billy Putterbaugh, Mike Ford, Chirs Jagger, Russ Gamester, Marc Jessup, Wendy Mathis, Daren Clayton and Kevin Newton.

Activities for the 58th Pay Less Little 500 kick off on Wednesday, May 24, with practice beginning at 11:15 a.m. The USAC National Sprint Car Series will compete in the Sam Pierce Chevrolet 50 on Wednesday evening.

The 58th Pay Less Little 500 round one pole qualifying will take place on Thursday, May 25, beginning at 1:30 p.m. On Friday, May 26, the 33-car field will be set with the second round of qualifications. On Saturday, May 27, the 58th Pay Less Little 500 green flag waves at 8 p.m.

Tickets are available for the legendary 58th Pay Less Little 500 at $27 for reserved seating. For more information, contact the Anderson Speedway Ticket Office from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.