Beaver, Tharp, Stevens and Owen Record Feature Victories

By Tom Hammond
Staff Writer

Click to View:  Results

Anderson Speedway fans were treated to some great racing during The Star Press Saturday Night Racing Series on May 6. Joe Beaver scored top honors in the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks feature with Josh Tharp claiming the Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8 main event. Other winners included Brad Stevens in the Insight ThunderCars and Randy Owen in the Chappy’s rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval.

In the SuperTruck feature, Noblesville’s Joe Beaver held off Anderson drivers Ronnie Rose and Josh Poore to pick up his second consecutive win of 2006. The three ran nose-to-tail over the final 30 laps of the 40-lap race. Rose tried both the high and low lines to get around Beaver to no avail. Following the Rose and Beaver across the finish line included Josh Poore, Muncie’s Andrew Brown and 2004 champion Josh Burton.

Beaver also won the first SuperTruck heat, while Wannamaker’s Jake Flagle scored the victory in the second heat. Burton was the top qualifier at 13.671 seconds.

Domination was the name of the game in the Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky and Figure 8 feature as Noblesville’s Josh Tharp navigated the crossover for the commanding victory. Curtis Chapman and Elliott McKinney were in a position to challenge, but the two tangled in the first turn on the 13th circuit while trying to work around the lap machine of Mike Cain. At the finish, Ranny Hinton placed second followed by Shawn Cullen, Ronnie Rose and Joe Hart.

The Figure 8 heat races were claimed by Ronnie Phipps and Mike Phipps. McKinney set a new track record in qualifying with a time of 19.120 seconds.

Anderson’s Brad Stevens picked up the lead on the 13th of 20 laps and then went on to win his second Insight ThunderCar feature of the season. Stevens inherited the point when Lonny Burton and David Short tangled in turn two and were relegated to the rear of the field. Fellow Rookie Dustin Burge placed second with Tim Dick, Nick Warner and Noblesville’s Katie Beaver rounding out the top five.

Alice Riall scored the victory in the first ThunderCar heat race. Fellow Alexandria driver Darryl Rogers picked up the win in the second heat. Warner posted the best qualifying time with a lap of 15.326 seconds.

In Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive action, Anderson’s Randy Owen used a great start to post a dominating win in the 15-lap feature. Owen vaulted to the lead from inside of the second row when the green flag flew and posted a straightaway advantage at the finish over Mt. Summit’s Keith Morris. New Castle’s Daniel Pierce, Johnny Burge and Alexandria’s Kevin Harmon also scored top five finishes.

Owen was victorious in the first Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval heat. Brian Lewis of Indianapolis took the checkered flag in the second heat race. Keith Morris was the fast qualifier at 16.176 seconds.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Friday, May 12, with the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series featuring American Awards Legends, Insight ThunderCars and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive on the Oval and Figure 8.

On, Saturday, May 13, The Star Press Saturday Night Series showcases the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and Mini Cups.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.