Ronnie Rose Records Two Victories During Yellow Book at the Races

By Tom Hammond

Click to View Results - Photo Gallery

Ronnie Rose visited the Texas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle on two occasions at Anderson Speedway on Saturday Night, May 14, winning both the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck and Boss Hogg Catering and Jerky Figure 8 features. Other feature winners during the Yellow Book at the Races were Rich Boyer in the Terry’s RV Sales & Service Street Stocks and Albany’s Daniel Russell grabbing top honors in the Legends.

Rose started 11th in the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck main event and advanced to second position by the fifth of 40 laps. He tried to pass race leader Jake Flagle of Wannamaker on the eighth circuit, but slower traffic worked to the advantage of Flagle. Then, Rose successfully got around Flagle two laps later, but the pass was negated by a yellow flag.

After the lap 11 restart, Rose powered around Flagle to grab first spot. 2004 point runner-up Mike Mendenhall made his way up to second by at the 12-lap mark, but Rose was able to hold off Mendenhall over the remaining 28 circuits during a spirited battle.

Current point leader Tony Broyles crossed the finish line in third with DT’S R Bar Rookies Mark Jones and Josh Poore rounding out the top five. Rose and Charles John were winners of the heat races. Broyles posted the fastest lap in qualifications.

In the Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s, Ronnie Rose began the night with topping the qualifying charts with an official clocking of 20.187 seconds and then drew a straight-up start. At the drop of the green flag Anderson’s Jason Pitts surged into the lead with Rose right on his tail. The two avoided disaster on the fourth lap as the Rod Phipps, Ronnie Phipps and Mark Goettman were involved in a collision near the cross-over.

Rose took the lead two laps later when Pitts went high in turn 2. Once Rose grabbed first position, he pulled away from the remainder of the race contenders. At the finish, Pitts grabbed runner-up honors, followed by Anderson drivers Josh Tharp, Curtis Chapman and Mike Riddle Jr. Figure 8 heat victories went to Riddle and Joe Hart Jr.

Rich Boyer returned from a week off and continued his domination of the Terry’s RV Sales & Service Street Stocks, but it wasn’t easy. Boyer set a new track record in qualifying with a time of 13.853 seconds and then drew a full inversion.

At the halfway mark in the feature, Boyer made his way up to fourth position behind Bruce McFall, Jeff Powers and Curtis Chapman. Misfortune struck Powers on the 23rd lap when he tangled with Chad Owens on the backstretch, allowing Boyer to grab third.

Boyer then passed Chapman for second on the 26th lap and battled his way around McFall to take the lead two laps later. McFall held on for second followed by Chapman, Danny Acrey II and Rod Phipps to complete the top five. Chapman and Josh Key were heat winners.

The Legends made a special appearance during The Star Press Saturday Night Series with Daniel Russell scoring his third win of the season. After starting in the seventh position, he quickly advanced through the field. Russell secured the victory after passing Mark Sullivan on the seventh circuit.

At the checkered flag, Elwood’s John Robbins chased Russell across the line in second position. The remainder of the top five included T.J. Sneva, Eric Black and Scott McGinley. In preliminary action, Russell took top honors in the first Legends heat, while Pendleton’s Mark Dietzen was the first to the checkered flag in the second heat.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action with The Star Press Spring Championships on Friday, May 20. The MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series will feature Legends, Insight ThunderCars in Oval and Figure 8 racing along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 racing.

On Saturday Night, The Star Press Spring Championships will take place for Ed Martin Auto Group Super Trucks, Terry’s RV Sales & Service Street Stocks and Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.